Top Ten Tuesday: First Ten Books I Ever Reviewed

rave party

Happy Tuesday! It’s been a while since I participated in Top Ten Tuesdays. I promise you guys I’m still alive. I just don’t know how to explain it. Since the beginning of this year, I’ve been in kind of a reading slump. I haven’t had a desire to read or to do anything blog related. I’ve missed it though so I’m slowly coming back.

I’m so excited about today’s topic because the blog turns four on Thursday. Can you believe it has been four years already? I know me neither. I’m so thankful for all you lovely readers who have followed and encouraged me throughout the years. So in honor of that, it’s a day of reminiscing. We are going to revisit the first ten reviews I have ever written on the blog!

  1. The Art of Losing Yourself by Katie Ganshert

    Art-of-Losing-Yourself-333x500This was the very first book I ever reviewed. This was the book that introduced me to the reviewer/blogger world. In fact, I had no idea such a world existed before this novel. I didn’t even know authors had street teams before this. In fact, this was the very book and author that I was ever on a street team for. This is where I learned about how much I loved writing reviews and helping the authors spread the word to the world about their books. This was also the book that showed me that there are authors who can write a story you can get lost in the Christian fiction world.

    Learn more about this incredible story that takes place in the Florida Panhandle by checking out my review HERE.

  2. Thief of Glory by Sigmund Brouwer

    18753630This was given to me as a thank you gift for having been a part of Katie Ganshert’s launch for The Art of Losing Yourself. I love anything World War II related and I had no idea that the Japanese had concentration camps in the West Dutch Indies so I thought this was an interesting read. It was very eye-opening as there were many events that occurred that I did not see coming.

    This is not a book for the faint-hearted. There are many dangerous situations that include violence and gruesome scenes as this was a time in history when things were not pretty.

    Learn more by checking out my review HERE.

  3. Broken Silence by Anslee Urban

    Broken SilenceThis was the first novel I ever won in a giveaway. To be honest, if I hadn’t won a copy, I probably would have passed this right on by. Since I was getting back into the fun of reading after having graduated from college, I decided to read and review it for the blog. If you want a fun and intense suspense novel then you’ll want to check this one out. The author knows how to keep you on the edge of your seat and turning those pages.

    Sometimes I feel like suspense novels tend to give away who the bad guy is too soon. Not this one. This one I had no idea who it would turn out to be until the very end.

    Learn more by checking out my review HERE.

  4. The Pharaoh’s Daughter by Mesu Andrews

    The Pharaoh's DaughterThis was the first book I’ve read from Mesu Andrews. I first learned about the book through one of those scavenger hunts and then I learned that I could request a copy to review.

    Mesu Andrews has a gift for taking a Biblical story and turning it into a work of fiction. This story is about the Pharaoh’s daughter, whom we don’t know much about other than that we know she rescued Moses from the river.

    Now I don’t think it was possible for King Tut to have been the Pharaoh, but it does add a nice touch and make the story fun.

    Learn more by checking out my review HERE.

  5. Love’s Rescue by Christine Johnson

    PrintI originally read this one because of the Key West theme. I’ve been to Key West and it is one of my favorite places in the world. In fact, I’ve actually visited some of the places mentioned in the book so it was neat to imagine what history would have looked like during the time period it is set in.

    This is a tale of family secrets, rescuing slaves, and falling madly in love with a pirate. It has a little bit of everything which makes this a fun novel to read. One of these days I will read the rest of the series.

    Learn more by checking out my review HERE.

  6. Once Upon a Summertime by Melody Carlson

    Once Upon a SummertimeMelody Carlson has always been one of my favorite authors ever since I was teen so I was beyond excited when I learned that I would have the opportunity to review some of her books.

    This wasn’t my favorite of my books because I thought the characters were just a tad too perfect and the romance was a bit abrupt. I mean, I kind of struggled with the idea of a marriage proposal after just knowing each other after a few days.

    However, I did like that the main character was willing to take on a new challenge no matter how hard it was.

    Learn more by checking out my review HERE.

  7. Untangled by Carey Scott

    Scott_Untangled_wSpine.inddI never planned on reading and reviewing non-fiction, but this was a topic I was interested in and I needed to see how Carey Scott tackled the topic. In fact, I plan on keeping a copy on my shelf as a resource to encourage other women.

    We all want friends and to be accepted, but when we learn to let go of some of our expectations, the freer we can be. People are always going to let you down, but Jesus never will. While people change, God will remain the same. He will still love you no matter what. That’s the main important truth that she teaches.

    Learn more by checking out my review HERE.

  8. The Gifting by K.E. Ganshert

    The GiftingThis is quite different from any of Katie Ganshert’s usual books. This is a young adult paranormal/dystopian novel that will keep you on the edge of your seat wanting more.

    Tess wants to be just like any other teenage girl who is focused on fitting in and hiding that she is seeing a therapist. So what happens when she learns what really is going on?

    If you’re a fan of Divergent or Twilight, you’ll probably love this one. I still need to read the other two books, but this was such a fun read that I think would be a major hit. It needs to have a movie on the big screen.

    Learn more by checking out my review HERE.

  9. When Grace Sings by Kim Vogel Sawyer

    When Grace SingsI’m going to be honest. I misjudged this at first because I thought it was a historical novel only to learn that it was actually Mennonite fiction. Normally I am not a fan of that genre, but the way the author wrote made me love it.

    I read this a few years ago so I don’t remember exactly what it was about except that it was quite interesting. It was the book that led me to want to pick up and read every single novel that Kim Vogel Sawyer had ever written.

    Learn more by checking out my review HERE.

  10. Centralia by Mike Dellosso

    CentraliaIf you’re a fan of the Bourne Identity or Jason Bourne or that kind of thing, then you’ll want to check out this series from Mike Dellosso. This series is quite similar but quite different.

    Mike Dellosso is very talented in creating an off the edge of your seat thriller that will keep you guessing at what will happen. Just when you think you know what’s going on, a complete twist and turn are thrown at you. This is for anyone who loves a good thrill, mystery, with a lot of kick butt action.

    Learn more by checking out my review HERE.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.