When Grace Sings by Kim Vogel Sawyer

Release Date: March 15, 2015

Publisher: Waterbrook Multnomah Press

ISBN: 9780307731333

Genre: Christian Fiction, Romance, Amish & Mennonite

Series: The Zimmerman Restoration Trilogy

When I first discovered this book, I had no idea what to expect. In fact, I based it solely on the front cover. Kim Vogel Sawyer is also an author that I have never read, but she has been on my to-read list for a while now. I didn’t even bother to read the back of the book. If I had, I’m not sure I would have even picked out this book in the first place. First off, it’s the second book of The Zimmerman Restoration Trilogy. Oops. It also takes place in an Amish and Old Order Mennonite community. Again, a topic that seems to be a majority of the Christian genre that really lacks my interest. However, I am so glad I did read this one because it’s incredible. It was impossible to put it down!

Alexa Zimmerman is not originally from the Old Order Mennonite community in Arborville, Kansas and so she often wonders if she’ll ever truly be accepted. Especially since her family roots are not what everyone had thought they were when she first arrived in town. She’s hoping her grandmother’s bed-and-breakfast that she is operating will succeed and will give her acception. She allows Briley Forrester, a hotshot reporter from Chicago, to stay as a long-term boarder. Only she does not know what his true intentions are for living among the Plain folk.

It isn’t until Alexa agrees to host her cousin, Anna-Grace Braun, brings out the insecurities which gives Briley reason to set foot on a trail of hidden truths.

Anna-Grace and Alexa also have to face the truth that their secrets are intertwined in ways that they will never have imagined. They must learn to trust in their loving heavenly Father and His plan for their futures.

It’s a powerful story that will cause you to stop and think about your own heart. It is a story of grace, mercy, and forgiveness. It’s a story of finding acceptance. We all have probably wondered whether we belong where are and if there is more to the story than we imagined. It’s definitely a story that I would recommend in a heartbeat. Although Kim Vogel Sawyer did an excellent job explaining bits and pieces of what occurred in the first novel, you’d get a better understanding if you read the first one previously. I am also anxiously awaiting the release of the next book in the series because I am very curious to know what happens next to the characters. The characters are well developed and the writing is extraordinary.

Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book from the publisher for my honest review, which I have given. I was not required to write a positive review and have not been compensated for it in any way. All opinions expressed are my own.

You can purchase a copy here.

download (4)About Kim Vogel Sawyer

Kim Vogel Sawyer is a best-selling author highly acclaimed for her gentle stories of hope. More than one million copies of her books are currently in print and have garnered awards including the ACFW Carol Award, the Inspirational Readers Choice Award, and the Gayle Wilson Award of Excellence. Kim lives in central Kansas, with husband Don and their four feline companions. She enjoys spending time with her three daughters and ten grandchildren.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.