Monthly Archives: May 2016

Anchor in the Storm by Sarah Sundin

Standard


27066853-1Anchor in the Storm by Sarah Sundin

Release Date: April 2016

Publisher: Revell

ISBN: 9780800723439

Genre: Fictional / Historical Romance / Mystery

Series: Waves of Glory, Book 2

Sarah Sundin has done it again! She has crafted a fun, inspiring historical novel.

We pick up where we left off in Through Waters Deep just after Pearl Harbor is attacked. The only difference is that this is Lillian and Arch’s story.

Read the rest of this entry

Advertisements

Bearing Witness Edited by Charles E. Moore & Timothy Keiderling

Standard


26267664-1Bearing Witness

Stories of Martyrdom and Costly Discipleship

Edited by Charles E. Moore & Timothy Keiderling

Release Date: March 1, 2016

Publisher: Plough Publishing House

ISBN: 9780874867046

Genre: Faith / Witness /Martyrdom

I’m not even sure how to describe this book, except that I think everyone should read it. It really gives the reader to reexamine their faith.

I mean do we even know what persecution really is?

Here in America we tend to feel like we’re facing persecution just for being a Christian. While some of it may true, we still have freedom to follow the Lord. We’re lucky to be able to live in a country that allows us to choose our faith. Many countries outside of North America, especially in Asia and Africa, it’s forbidden to be a Christian. The reality of persecution and suffering is a reality. In fact, we hear about this all of the time!

Read the rest of this entry

Apache Protectors by Jenna Kernan

Standard

Apache Protectors by Jenna Kernan

Hello everyone! Before I begin, I need to mention that this is not a Christian series and are not family friendly.

12729067_1007381726001089_5686383950153741682_n

This series is published through Harlequin Silhouette Intrigue. Each book features a different Cosen brother and some kind of crazy case they need to solve. They’re Apache so these books take place on the Apache Indian Reservation and/or Black Mountain in Arizona.

When I mention it’s not family friendly, I need to make a note that each book contains at least once sexual scene. These are quite short and I easily skipped over them. Also, we deal a lot with drug cartels.

Read the rest of this entry

The League and the Lantern by Brian Wells (Plus a Giveaway)

Standard


29892860-1The League and the Lantern by Brian Wells

Release Date: May 16, 2016

Publisher: Republic Ink

ISBN: 9780997227000

Genre: Middle School / Fiction / Action Adventure

Series: The League and the Lantern, Book 1

Oh my! This book is fantastic! Fans of Harry Potter and Percy Jackson are going to love this one! Trust me, this just could be the next big thing. It’s awesome. It’s geared for middle schoolers (ages 9-12) but even adults will love it. Be sure to stay tuned until the very end because I’m giving away a copy!

It begins with a 12-year-old boy named Jake Herndon. He’s the kind of kid who is trying to figure out who he is and where he belongs. He’s a genius when he wants to be. It’s summer and Jake is anxiously awaiting his seventh grade year at a new school for his new do-over. This all began with his seventh grade sleepover with the new school at a museum. Except it goes completely wrong. An organization invades and takes the night into a shocking swirl of events.

Read the rest of this entry

Breaking Free by Jennifer Slattery

Standard


27817495-1Breaking Free by Jennifer Slattery

Release Date: March 7, 2016

Publisher: New Hope Publishers

  • ISBN-10: 1596694688
  • ISBN-13: 978-1596694682

 

Genre: Women’s Fiction / Christian / General / Fiction

Breaking Free has become one of my favorite reads in all of Christian Fiction! Before I begin, it is important to mention that this is not a fun or light read. It’s emotionally gripping. If you’ve been or are going through this type of situation, you might have a tougher time reading this because it deals with some really tough issues. Due to this, it’s going to be tough to write this review.

Read the rest of this entry