Tuesday Talks: Favorite Female Authors

tuesdaytalks2

Hello Everyone! Welcome to Tuesday Talks with It’s Storytime with Van Daniker!

Tuesdays Talks is a Goodreads group for anyone who loves to discuss certain topics covering books, authors, libraries, book stores and so much more. Tuesday Talks consists mainly of Book tubers and bloggers, but anyone can join on discussions and can share their thoughts. We also encourage input from members on topics to discuss as well.

You can find Tuesday Talks here.

Today’s topic is: Favorite Female Authors

Most of you that follow this blog are fellow bookworms so you can more than likely relate. We read so much that sometimes it’s difficult to choose your favorites. A majority of the authors I read tend to be female. I’m not sure why that is but it seems to be the books that I gravitate to. Here are my top 16 female authors that I’ve enjoyed reading over the years. 

  1. Jane Austen
    downloadJane Austen will always be a favorite for me. She’s the author of Pride and PrejudiceEmmaSense and SensibilityMansfield Park, and a few others. I’ve always enjoyed her writing style and writty humor. She’s the reason why I am so fascinated with The Regency Era. Life was so simple back then. Men were expected to be gentlemen and ladies to be ladies. Many women are quite fascinated with Mr. Darcy, but he’s not my favorite of Austen’s heroes. Don’t worry, I do appreciate him, but I’ve always been a Mr. Knightley and Edward Ferrars fangirl. To be perfectly honest, each hero has qualities that I dream for my future husband to have. That’s a discussion for another day though.


  2. Lisa T. Bergren
    75646Lisa T. Bergren is one of those authors that I’m surprised I learned about through my grandmother. My grandmother sent me all of the books in The Homeward TrilogyThe River of Time series, a couple of books in the Grand Tour series, and an autographed copy of the first book in the Remnants series. Since then, I own almost all of her books. I don’t even have to know what the book is about. She is an auto-buy author because I know I’m going to enjoy it. Her books are always so much fun, entertaining, and heart-wrenching. I highly recommend her books.


  3. Francine Rivers
    Rivers_Francine_350x525Francine Rivers is probably what got me hooked on Christian fiction. When I was in high school, a friend was reading her Mark of the Lion series and told me I had to read them. I ended up loving this series. When I was a student at Word of Life Florida Bible Institute, Redeeming Love was the book to read. I ended up reading that and loving it. Rivers is not afraid to hit the hard topics, keeping it real, while giving God all of the glory. She uses her writing to draw closer to the Lord, and that through her work she might worship and praise Jesus for all He has done and is doing in her life.


  4. L.M. Montgomery
    lucy-maud-montgomery-11I can’t talk about my favorite authors without including L.M. Montgomery in the list. You’ve probably read her most popular series growing up as a child. This is the author that gave us an orphan girl with carrot red hair that made us all wish we lived in Prince Edward Island and married Gilbert Bylthe. I loved that even though Anne of Green Gables is a children’s book that even adults appreciate it. It’s a coming of age story with fun, adventure, life lessons, and a swoon-worthy romance.


  5. Katie Ganshert
    IMG_0412I barely started my blog when I first joined Katie Ganshert’s team. In fact, she was the first author I have ever written a review for. She writes beautiful contemporary novels that grip the heart and show how great our God is. The Art of Losing Yourself and Life After are worth the read. In fact, Life After, is my favorite book of hers.


  6. Melody Carlson
    5945There are still quite a few books that I haven’t read by Melody Carlson. She has been one of my favorite authors since I discovered her when I was in high school. I first discovered her Diary of a Teenage Girl series at Wal-Mart. You know, back when Wal-Mart carried a decent sized Christian fiction section. I began with Caitlin’s diaries and some of Chole’s. She gets teenagers. Her books are relatable, hits some hard topics while keeping it realistic, showing the consequences and explaining topics such as purity. She also always makes God the center-stage.


  7. Susan May Warren
    2010-headshot-300x290Just like Karen Kingsbury, Suran May Warren writes all about family. Although, I prefer Warren over Kingsbury. Warren writes rich novels about family with lots of swoon-worthy romance and life lessons. None of her characters are perfect. In fact, they mess up big time, but they always come back to the love of Jesus Christ and family. No matter how messy things get, family is family. The Christiansen Family is one of my favorite novels of hers.


  8. Melissa Tagg
    16002If you enjoy Susan May Warren, then you need to check out Melissa Tagg. Both kept unique and different, yet both writing styles are similiar when it comes to big families in small towns. Her novels are all about romance and her male heroes are swoon-worthy. She has a passion for people and old classic movies. In fact, the second book in her popular Walker Family series, Like Never Before, was named to one of Publisher’s Weekly’s Spring 2016 Top Ten lists. She is also a blogger and a speaker. She’s a brilliant writer so you should check her books out.


  9.  Jennifer Slattery
    Jennifer-Slattery-200x300Jennifer Slattery is another author that has become a favorite within the last couple years. If you enjoy books that aren’t cheesy, that deal with real and deep issues that scrape beyond the surface with a missionary purpose, then you’ll want to check out Breaking FreeRestoring Love is her newest cute, somewhat cheesy, romantic tale. Jesus is always the focus of her books and that’s one of my favorite things about her. Slattery also has new release coming out soon entitled Healing Love.  She’s an awesome author so you should totally check her books out.


  10. April W. Gardner
    beach_headshotApril W. Gardner is a somewhat new author to me. I’ve been reading her Creek Country Series and I cannot put them down! So of course, I had to add her to the list of favorite authors. Gardner writes beautiful, gripping, and powerful historical romances where she literally brings history to life. She bases her stories on real places and events that hardly anyone has ever heard of. This causes her books to stand out because I find myself intrigued and needing to learn more! And like many of the authors I’ve mentioned above, you can count on God being the center.


  11. Dawn Crandall
    71XNMguH8YL._UX250_Where do I begin with this fabulous author? I have read every book that Dawn Crandall has written. If you enjoy a sweet romance set in historical Boston, then you’ll want to check her Everstone Chronicles. She has a beautiful writing style with memborable characters. Oh and the male characters are so swoon-worthy! You’ll just fall in love with them. Her research always shines through and storytelling is her gift. All I can think of to say is to go read her books because they’re beautiful.


  12. Katherine Reay
    1520790_398284423651964_1152776687295739622_nI’ve only read a couple of Katherine Reay’s novels. My personal favorite is A Portrait of Emily Price because of it’s big Italian family setting. Plus it takes place in Italy. The Bronte Plot is takes place on trip to visit the Bronte sister’s sites in England. That’s a fun read as well. All of her books are filled with literary and classic quotes from famous authors such as C.S. Lewis and Jane Austen which makes the novels fun. One of these days I’ll read Dear Mr. Knightley because that’s based on my favorite Jane Austen hero.


  13. Courtney Walsh
    pic_420_Walsh_CourtneyCourtney Walsh is a beautiful contemporary author that every female needs to read. She writes beautiful romance novels that grip the heart and soul. She also makes Jesus the center and deals with real issues. Paper Hearts and Change of Hearts are must reads! She has a few new releases coming out soon such as Just Look Up which I am so excited to read soon. She also recently collabrated with a brand new novella with Melissa Tagg and Deborah Raney entitled, Right Where We Belong. This has such a cute cover and I cannot wait to read it! She also has beautiful new cover editions for her Sweethaven Series.


  14. Roseanna M. White
    16271Roseanna M. White has written a ton of books, but I’ve personally only read the Ladies of the Manor series. I highly recommend this one for Downton Abbey fans. It’s a beautiful romantic historical fiction set in England where both the upperclass and the servants interact. Plus there are the Dukes and the swoon-worthy men along with a swoon-worthy romance. She also keeps her characters realistic while giving a heart-worthy message that will encourage and challenge her readers to want to know God better.


  15. Sarah Sundin
    Sundin_SarahI finished reading Through Waters Deep, I knew Sarah Sundin would make my list of favorite authors. Waves of Freedom is the series I would recommend for all Nancy Drew mystery fans. It takes place during World War II with strong women who end up stumbling on a mystery to solve. Plus, we also learn about some really neat facts from the war along with a mixture of war on the U.S. Navy ships. Seriously, if you haven’t already, you need to check out her amazing books. I cannot wait for her newest World War II series come out soon!


  16. Sarah E. Ladd
    SEL-HEADSHOT-FOR-ABOUT-SARAH-PAGESarah E. Ladd writes beautiful tales with a sense of mystery during the Regency era. The clothes, the music, the literature expressed in her books are authentic to the period of the time. Her writing style makes you feel as if you picked up a Jane Austen novel and entered the world of the characters. I highly recommend the Treasures of Surrey series. In fact, she has a new novel, A Stranger at Fellsworth, releasing this coming May! I’m so excited! And a fun fact: Book one of the series, The Heiress of Winterwood, was the recipient of the 2011 ACFW Genesis Award for historical romance.


There you have it! My top 16 favorite female authors. I wish I could have added more to the list, but I needed to keep this post somewhat short.

What about you? What are some of your favorite female authors? 

6 thoughts on “Tuesday Talks: Favorite Female Authors

    • Thank you so much for writing your books! They’re always so much fun and encouraging. I love how you tie in the Word of God with whatever the characters are going through. Seriously cannot wait for your new series! Question, will we see Yvette again in the future? ❤

      Like

    • Thank you so much for writing your books April! Every time I begin one, I always find myself needing to start the next one because I need more. I’m halfway through Bitter Eyes. It’s so good! And I love the glimpses you showed of Mink! Makes me even more excited for her story!

      Liked by 1 person

      • So glad to hear that about Mink, Becky! Here’s a snippet of her, to hold you over. 😉 She’s remembering here…

        The others were hardbound for Wakulla, but Mink’s feet were firmly set on the Fowltown trail.
        For three spluttering, body-trembling breaths, Water Moccasin hated her for it—for snubbing his brotherly protection, for ripping apart the last of their clan.
        Darling man. How she cherished him. She’d told him so by rushing back for a leaping embrace that dangled her from his neck. “Tall Bull needs you more than I,” she’d whispered at his ear, while looking at the man himself over Water Moccasin’s shoulder.
        Tall Bull had been her heart as much that day as in those of their youth—despite the fact he’d wed her dearest friend, Leaping Waters.
        You are a retched, faithless friend, she’d uttered to herself time and again.
        It changed nothing.
        Her shame had been so intense, her love—for them both—so unalterable, she’d allowed herself one last look, then vowed to walk away forever.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Pingback: Finding Joy in the Chaos | Jennifer Slattery Lives Out Loud

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.