March 2019 Wrap Up!

March 2019 Wrap Up

Hey there! March has been over for a while, but I was kind of procrastinating on this post because I was ashamed to tell you that I only managed to read two books.

I figured enough time has passed that I decided to go ahead and share with you what they were.

The Secrets of Paper and InkThe Secrets of Paper and Ink by Lindsay Harrel

Lindsay Harrel presents a powerful story of healing, forgiveness, and finding the courage to write your own story.

A year after the death of her abusive fiancé, domestic violence counselor Sophia Barrett finds returning to work too painful. She escapes to Cornwall, England–a place she’s learned to love through the words of her favorite author–and finds a place to stay with the requirement that she help out in the bookstore underneath the room she’s renting. Given her love of all things literary, it seems like the perfect place to find peace.

Ginny Rose is an American living in Cornwall, sure that if she saves the bookstore she co-owns with her husband then she can save her marriage as well. Fighting to keep the first place she feels like she belongs, she brainstorms with her brother-in-law, William, and Sophia to try to keep the charming bookstore afloat.

Two hundred years before, governess Emily Fairfax knew two things for certain: she wanted to be a published author, and she was in love with her childhood best friend. But he was a wealthy heir and well out of her league. Sophia discovers Emily’s journals, and she and William embark on a mission to find out more about this mysterious and determined woman, all the while getting closer to each other as they get closer to the truth.

The lives of the three women intertwine as each learns the power she has over the story of her life.

This was an incredible story that takes place not only in England but in a bookstore. Plus, I think it’d make a fantastic rom-com movie. You can learn more by checking out my review HERE. A huge thank you goes to Thomas Nelson and Lindsay Harrel for my review copy.

Other BodiesOther Bodies by Joel Ohman

For fans of The Hunger Games, The Maze Runner, and Divergent comes a YA dystopian/light romance with a strong female protagonist who is forced to question everything…

In a world where immersive VR suits distort what is real from what is not, and the AI Personhood Act blurs the lines between body and bot, the choices sixteen-year-old Hattie Martins faces are very personal.

Welcome to Hattie Martins’ dystopian Philadelphia, where everything is not as it seems…

Just as her life is looking up–a new job, new friends, a new date–Hattie discovers not all progress in her beloved, futuristic Philadelphia is for the best. Societal regrets can become personal regrets in an instant. Choices don’t always come with second chances, and when they do the cost can be unimaginable. How far will she go to undo her greatest regret? And worse yet, what will she become if it’s too late? 

In a world where bots are equal to bodies, what does it mean to be alive? 

What is real? 

Which bodies matter? 

What about the other bodies?… 

In this blistering new young adult novel from the #1 bestselling author of the Meritropolis series, readers will question everything they know about life and reality in a unique dystopian adventure that is equal parts moral dilemma and romance.

If you enjoy Veronica Roth, James Dashner, or Suzanne Collins then this is the story of the year you won’t want to miss. BUY NOW.

*Subject matter includes references to euthanasia, abortion, and teenage pregnancy. There are NO sex scenes and NO curse words. This is a stand-alone book with a complete story from beginning to end. There are NO cliff-hangers and this is NOT a part of a series.*

This was an interesting read. It wasn’t quite what I expected from a dystopian, especially one compared to The Hunger Games, Divergent, and The Maze Runner. I honestly thought it was just okay. Learn more by checking out my review HERE. A huge thank you goes to Flyby Promotions and Joel Ohman for my review copy.

 

And that’s a wrap!

Did you see a book that you found yourself adding to your TBR? Or perhaps there is a book on your TBR that I received this month? Or perhaps you’ve read some of the books from my haul? Let me know in the comments. 

One thought on “March 2019 Wrap Up!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.