Other Bodies by Joel Ohman

Release Date: August 29, 2018

Publisher: whitefox Publishing Services

ISBN: 9781981916849

Genre: Fiction / Young Adult / Dystopia

About the Book:

For fans of The Hunger Games, The Maze Runner, and Divergent comes a YA dystopian/light romance with a strong female protagonist who is forced to question everything…

In a world where immersive VR suits distort what is real from what is not, and the AI Personhood Act blurs the lines between body and bot, the choices sixteen-year-old Hattie Martins faces are very personal.

Welcome to Hattie Martins’ dystopian Philadelphia, where everything is not as it seems…

Just as her life is looking up–a new job, new friends, a new date–Hattie discovers not all progress in her beloved, futuristic Philadelphia is for the best. Societal regrets can become personal regrets in an instant. Choices don’t always come with second chances, and when they do the cost can be unimaginable. How far will she go to undo her greatest regret? And worse yet, what will she become if it’s too late? 

In a world where bots are equal to bodies, what does it mean to be alive? 

What is real? 

Which bodies matter? 

What about the other bodies?… 

In this blistering new young adult novel from the #1 bestselling author of the Meritropolis series, readers will question everything they know about life and reality in a unique dystopian adventure that is equal parts moral dilemma and romance.

If you enjoy Veronica Roth, James Dashner, or Suzanne Collins then this is the story of the year you won’t want to miss. BUY NOW.

*Subject matter includes references to euthanasia, abortion, and teenage pregnancy. There are NO sex scenes and NO curse words. This is a stand-alone book with a complete story from beginning to end. There are NO cliff-hangers and this is NOT a part of a series.*

My Thoughts:

When I first heard of “Other Bodies” by Joel Ohman, I was curious to see how the author would handle the topic of teen pregnancy and abortion in a dystopian world.

We meet Hattie in the not so distant future where the lines for abortion and feminism are blurred. This novel takes places in a very futuristic Planned Parenthood kind of facility and since our main character is pregnant, the book focuses heavily on teen pregnancy. Our character goes back and forth trying to decide if she wants to keep the baby or go through with an abortion. We also see some of the after effects of what women go through after an abortion. I liked how the author handled this with care.

What I wished to have seen more of in the book was the message of hope and redemption. I mean, I guess we kind of see it when Hattie’s baby is revealed and bow before what I assume is Jesus, but otherwise, there isn’t any mention about God, the gospel, or anything spiritual related. Hattie is constantly berating herself with shame and guilt. This is where the author would have had the perfect opportunity to share about forgiveness and our hope in the Lord. Maybe the author will choose to write a sequel because I would have loved to see Hattie receive the gift of God’s mercy and grace.

This book wouldn’t make my favorites list, but I did enjoy it for the most part. Although, I’m not sure if I would recommend it for someone who has gone through or is currently going through this situation.


Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book from the publisher for my honest review, which I have given. I was not required to write a positive review and have not been compensated for it in any way. All opinions expressed are my own.

Add on Goodreads

A Note From the Author

Tell a Story

Purchase your copy on Amazon

Learn more about Joel and his books at his website

About Joel Ohman:

Joel Ohman lives in Tampa, FL with his wife Angela and their three kids. His writing companion is Caesar, a slightly overweight Bull Mastiff who loves to eat the tops off of strawberries.

Joel is the author of the #1 bestselling Meritropolis series—“The Hunger Games meets The Village with a young Jack Reacher as a protagonist”.

Joel is a Christian, CEO, CERTIFIED FINANCIAL PLANNER™, author, angel investor, and serial entrepreneur who loves creating new things, whether books or businesses. He is the founder of a number of web startups and currently serves as the CEO and lead operator of 360 Quote, a private equity backed platform company in the online lead generation space, the co-founder and CEO of a B2B SaaS software company, Exercise.com, and has also previously served as the founder and resident CFP® of a national insurance agency, Real Time Health Quotes.

He has an undergraduate degree in Business from Clearwater Christian College, an MBA from the University of South Florida and a Master’s of Divinity from Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary.

He loves the city of Tampa and is heavily involved in the community: he serves on the board of the Tampa Bay Fellowship of Christian Athletes, as a trustee of The Idlewild Foundation, and is a deacon, missions trip leader, and member of the finance committee at Idlewild Baptist Church.

One thought on “Other Bodies by Joel Ohman

  1. Pingback: March 2019 Wrap Up! | It's Story Time With Van Daniker!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.