Of Fire and Lions by Mesu Andrews

Release Date: March 5, 2019

Publisher: Waterbrook Multnomah

ISBN: 9780735291867

Genre: Fiction / Biblical Fiction

Series: Prophets and Kings, Book Two

Check out my review for the previous book, Isaiah’s Daughter.

About the Book:

The Old Testament book of Daniel comes to life in this novel for readers of Lynn Austin’s Chronicles of the Kings series or Francine Rivers’ Mark of the Lion series.

Survival. A Hebrew girl first tasted it when she escaped death nearly seventy years ago as the Babylonians ransacked Jerusalem and took their finest as captives. She thought she’d perfected in the many years amongst the Magoi and the idol worshippers, pretending with all the others in King Nebuchadnezzar’s court. Now, as Daniel’s wife and a septuagenarian matriarch, Belili thinks she’s safe and she can live out her days in Babylon without fear–until the night Daniel is escorted to Belshazzar’s palace to interpret mysterious handwriting on a wall. The Persian Army invades, and Bellili’s tightly-wound secrets unfurl with the arrival of the conquering army. What will the reign of Darius mean for Daniel, a man who prays to Yahweh alone? 
Ultimately, Yahweh’s sovereign hand guides Jerusalem’s captives, and the frightened Hebrew girl is transformed into a confident woman, who realizes her need of the God who conquers both fire and lions.

My Thoughts:

Mesu Andrews is one of my favorite authors when it comes to biblical fiction. I had no idea what the author had in store for “Of Fire and Lions” except that the cover was absolutely stunning and that it would be based on the book of Daniel. Now, if you’ve grown up in the church then you’re probably very familiar with this guy. That’s what I love the most about this story. Mrs. Andrews brings to life the stories that happened thousands of years ago and brings it into an entirely new light.

One particular theme throughout the story is the constant challenge of staying true to God and having an abiding faith even in the face of death. Like Belili, I constantly found myself questioning myself if my faith were as strong as Daniel’s. While today’s circumstances are quite different and no one is being thrown into fiery pits or fed to the lions here in America, I still found myself questioning myself if I would respond the same way if I were thrown into a similar situation. I hope my answer would be yes, but it was thought-provoking.

Other themes found throughout the book contain devotion, reconciliation, forgiveness, and how amazing God is. You’ll also probably find yourself opening your Bible to read the book of Daniel for yourself. That’s one of my favorite parts when it comes to Mesu Andrews’ books.

This will definitely be a book that you will not want to miss out on. Seriously. Go do yourself a favor and pre-order yourself a copy.

Highly recommended!

Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book from the publisher for my honest review, which I have given. I was not required to write a positive review and have not been compensated for it in any way. All opinions expressed are my own.

Read an excerpt

Add on Goodreads

Purchase your copy at Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Christianbook.com, Books-A-Million, or wherever books are sold

VISIT MESU at her websiteFacebookTwitterYouTubeInstagram, and Pinterest

About Mesu Andrews:

Mesu Andrews is the Christy Award winning author of Isaiah’s Daughter and has received numerous accolades for her other novels including Love Amid the AshesThe Pharaoh’s Daughter,and Miriam. Her deep understanding of and love for God’s Word brings the biblical world alive for readers. Many of her faithful readers are members of her launch team—Mesu’s Biblical Fiction Fans (BFFs)—and offer their time and service to promote God’s word through story. Andrews lives in North Carolina with her husband Roy and enjoys spending time with her growing tribe of grandchildren. For more information, visit www.mesuandrews.com.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.