No One Ever Asked by Katie Ganshert

35673517Release Date: April 3, 2018

Publisher: Waterbrook Multnomah

ISBN: 9781601429049

Genre: Fiction / Contemporary

About the Book:

Challenging perceptions of discrimination and prejudice, this emotionally resonant drama for readers of Lisa Wingate and Jodi Picoult explores three different women navigating challenges in a changing school district–and in their lives.

When an impoverished school district loses its accreditation and the affluent community of Crystal Ridge has no choice but to open their school doors, the lives of three very different women converge: Camille Gray–the wife of an executive, mother of three, long-standing PTA chairwoman and champion fundraiser–faced with a shocking discovery that threatens to tear her picture-perfect world apart at the seams. Jen Covington, the career nurse whose long, painful journey to motherhood finally resulted in adoption but she is struggling with a happily-ever-after so much harder than she anticipated. Twenty-two-year-old Anaya Jones–the first woman in her family to graduate college and a brand new teacher at Crystal Ridge’s top elementary school, unprepared for the powder-keg situation she’s stepped into. Tensions rise within and without, culminating in an unforeseen event that impacts them all. This story explores the implicit biases impacting American society, and asks the ultimate question: What does it mean to be human? Why are we so quick to put labels on each other and categorize people as “this” or “that”, when such complexity exists in each person?

My Thoughts:

In all honesty, I was hesitant about reading “No One Ever Asked“.  Katie Ganshert is very vocal about her views on racism and unfortunately, I disagree with quite a bit of them. So when I learned that this was going to be the topic for this novel, I was skeptical. I’m a huge fan of the authors’ other books so I decided it was time to give this one a try and see how she handles the topic. It exceeded my expectations! In fact, this is a keeper for my bookshelf.

This is a book that needs to be read and talked about with everyone. It’s the perfect novel for book clubs to get those important conversations going. If we’re going to fight for equality, then we need to work together to make that happen.

The book is told through three different women’s points of views, all going through different things. They all have different opinions and it was neat watching how they all connected. They are raw, vulnerable, transparent, and realistic. Each of their stories is an emotional rollercoaster that will have readers crying, laughing, cheering them on, or getting mad.

This isn’t just a story about racism, but a journey of grace, mercy, redemption, and forgiveness. It’s a story about how we treat one another with love and kindness. It’s a story that will stick with you long after the book has ended.

Overall, I enjoyed this. Highly recommended!

Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book from the publisher for my honest review, which I have given. I was not required to write a positive review and have not been compensated for it in any way. All opinions expressed are my own.

Add on Goodreads

Purchase your copy at Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Christianbooks.com, and wherever books are sold

VISIT KATIE at her website, Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, and Pinterest

IMG_0412About Katie Ganshert:

Award-winning author, Katie Ganshert, graduated from the University of Wisconsin in Madison with a degree in education and worked as a fifth-grade teacher for several years before staying home to write full-time. She was born and raised in the Midwest, where she lives with her family. When she’s not busy penning novels or spending time with her people, she enjoys drinking coffee with friends, reading great literature, and eating copious amounts of dark chocolate. You can learn more about Katie and her books by visiting her website or author Facebook page.

 

 

Advertisements

6 thoughts on “No One Ever Asked by Katie Ganshert

  1. Pingback: May 2018 Wrap Up! | It's Story Time With Van Daniker!

  2. Pingback: First Line Fridays: No One Ever Asked by Katie Ganshert | It's Story Time With Van Daniker!

  3. I’ve heard a lot about this book and I found your review from your FLF post this week. I am curious about the parts you disagree with in regards to the author’s stance on racism. I hope this does not come across in a confrontational way, I just Googled a bit about the author and read some of her posts about the topic, and was curious on your thoughts.

    Like

    • The book is great and I don’t think there was anything in it that I disagreed with. I’m not sure how to explain it and I don’t want to give any spoilers away. I think Anaya’s character in the beginning of the book shows it the best, honestly.

      Like

      • Good to now and thanks for not spoiling anything, I am definitely considering reading this one. I more so meant in reference to what you’d written about the author being vocal in her views and that you disagreed with her on some things.

        Like

      • It’s been awhile since I’ve actually paid attention to her posts so I don’t remember. I agree that racism is still an issue, but not in many of the ways that they’re complaining about. I’ve had people pull the race card on me just because they disagreed with me on something. Most of the time it never even has anything to do with the color of their skin.

        Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.