First Line Fridays: The League and the Lantern by Brian Wells

Standard
First Line Fridays: The League and the Lantern by Brian Wells

FirstLineFridays

Hey Loves! How is everyone doing on this lovely Friday?

This week has been quite stressful on my end. It’s one thing to know a hurricane is coming towards your home state and will probably affect you, but it’s another when you find out that your home is in the direct path. So this week has been mostly a lot of prepping, praying, and trying to stay calm. I can’t help but praise the Lord right now because it turned out to between a CAT 1 and CAT 2 by the time it hit us here in the Tampa Bay area. I am alive and well. There is no damage to the house at all. We did lose power, but only for a few hours after the storm had passed. We literally just got our internet back yesterday so there almost wasn’t a First Line Friday post today. Please keep Florida in your prayers because so many of my friends are still without power. Some are devastated due to damage to their homes. Hurricane Irma was a brutal storm.

Earlier in the week, I started collecting books and making sure that my Kindle would be fully charged so that I would have something to read while we ride out the storm. It was so hard to concentrate this past week, that hardly any reading happened. So I decided that I’m going to share a fun and light read that I read awhile ago.

This is technically a middle-grade novel, but people of all ages will enjoy it. I sure did! This should be the next Harry Potter or Percy Jackson. Plus, kids won’t even realize that they’re learning. It’s filled with vocabulary words that they should know and tons of history lessons. See my review here.

The book I’m featuring today is: The League and the Lantern by Brian Wells

29892860-1

And the first line is:

“Is he dead?”

The voice was muffled and fuzzy. It sounded like a girl to Jake, but he wasn’t quite sure. Everything was black and spinning.

Okay, I know that’s actually three lines, but they were necessary. 🙂

Without further ado, let’s get started. Grab the closest book to you and leave a comment with the first line.

Let me know your first line in the comments & then head over to see what First Lines these friends are sharing today:

Bookworm Mama || Singing Librarian Books || Faithfully Bookish || Radiant Light

Encouraging Words from the Tea Queen || All the Book Blog Names are Taken || Robin’s Nest

Fiction Aficionado || Bibliophile Reviews || Kathleen Denly || Lauraine’s Notes

With A Joyful Noise || A Baker’s Perspective || Joy of Reading || C Jane Read

Moments Dipped in Ink || Molly’s Cafinated Reads || Romances of the Cross || Reading is my SuperPower

Iola Goulton || The Christian Fiction Girl || Book Reviews by Tima || A Brighter Destiny || Sprinkles & Pink

If you would like to host First Line Fridays on your blog, contact Carrie from Reading is my SuperPower, Rachel at Bookworm Mama, Beth at Faithfully Bookish, or Sydney at Singing Librarian Books

15 responses »

  1. Great opening! And so glad to hear you sustained so little damage.

    I’ve got the first line from Janet Ferguson’s new release, Magnolia Storms, on my blog today, but I’m going to share the first line from my current read: Many Sparrows, by Lori Benton (Oh. My. Word! ❤️ )

    “Jeremiah Ring had witnessed death as often as the next man on the Allegheny frontier, but in all his thirty years he had encountered no deaths more dismaying than those confronting him now.”

    It feels wrong, somehow, to follow that up with ‘have a good weekend’, but I hope you do! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Happy Friday! My first line is from A Christmas to Remember by Linda Brooks Davis:

    1908 4 days until Christmas
    “The line of delicate stitches blurred to a crimson smudge.”

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m glad you rode out Irma safely! My husband’s grandfather lives south of you (Port Charlotte, FL). They had some flooding, and still no electricity. It’s going to be awhile before FL is all back to business as usual. Thanks for sharing this fun book. I’ll be looking into it further. It sounds like one my 9 year old may enjoy. Have a great weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah, Irma left a lot of flooding in her path. I know the no electricity thing. So many are without. It will be awhile before things get back to normal indeed. I hope stores start restocking ice cream soon because I think we’re all going to need it after enduring a hurricane. Lol. Yay! I hope he enjoys it, it is super fun. The author who wrote it produced family films such as Nim’s Island.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Yes, you definitely needed the three lines. Intriguing!

    I’m sharing from Jewel of the Stars by Adam David Collings on my blog today, but I’m currently reading Uncharted Hope by Keely Brooke Keith. Here’s the first line:

    At half past nine, boots scuffed the pavestones outside the medical cottage, followed by a rapid-fire knock.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’m so happy to hear that you are safe! And you are definitely in my prayers. Check out my recent Daily Megaphone that I posted…I hope that it is encouraging. I did exactly the same thing too…charged my Kindle and phone, so I could read if I needed to. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

