First Line Fridays: Just Look Up by Courtney Walsh

Standard
First Line Fridays: Just Look Up by Courtney Walsh

FirstLineFridays

Hey, Everyone! It’s Friday!

We are currently preparing for Hurricane Irma to come and do her worst to us Floridians. Depending on how this storm affects us, I may not approve and respond to comments for awhile. It’s still early so no one has any idea where exactly the storm’s going to hit, but it’s a big storm so we will see/feel some of it. ALL of Florida is under a state of emergency. They’re saying that this is the worst storm in history since Hurricane Andrew. Yikes! Please keep us in your prayers! Oh and don’t forget to pray for Georgia, North Carolina, and South Carolina because they’re supposed to get hit pretty hard too!

Without further ado, let’s get started. Grab the closest book to you and leave a comment with the first line.

The book I’m featuring today is: Just Look Up by Courtney Walsh

32980228

This is one of my favorites of this year so far! It’s a beautiful swoon-worthy romance that encourages readers to not focus so much on the busy and to live in the moment. The characters and this small lake town become like friends and family.

And the first line is:

JUST BREATHE.

Lane Kelly rested her hand on her knee, willing it to stop bouncing.

Let me know your first line in the comments & then head over to see what First Lines these friends are sharing today:

Bookworm Mama || Singing Librarian Books || Faithfully Bookish || Radiant Light

Encouraging Words from the Tea Queen || All the Book Blog Names are Taken || Robin’s Nest

Fiction Aficionado || Bibliophile Reviews || Kathleen Denly || Lauraine’s Notes

With A Joyful Noise || A Baker’s Perspective || Joy of Reading || C Jane Read

Moments Dipped in Ink || Molly’s Cafinated Reads || Romances of the Cross || Reading is my SuperPower

Iola Goulton || The Christian Fiction Girl || Book Reviews by Tima | A Brighter Destiny

Welcome to the FLF team, Ellie from Sprinkles & Pink! Excited to have you join in all the fun!

If you would like to host First Line Fridays on your blog, contact Carrie from Reading is my SuperPower, Rachel at Bookworm Mama, Beth at Faithfully Bookish, or Sydney at Singing Librarian Books

16 responses »

  1. I loved Just Look Up. It’s definitely one of the best books I’ve read this year!

    I’m sharing from Magnolia Storms by Janet Ferguson over on my blog today. Next on my to-read pile is Unblemished by Sara Ella, which is a bit different to what I usually read. But it’s got a great first line:

    This is all my fault.
    She’ll lose her soul because of me.

    Okay, so that’s two lines. But you can see why I want to keep reading.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Great first line! I read “Unblemished” a while ago. It wasn’t for me, but I was recently sent the sequel, “Unraveling” and I’ve heard it’s even better so I’ll probably give it a try again. Thanks for sharing Lola! 🙂

      Like

  2. I’ve heard lots of good things about this book. I need to get around to reading it!

    I’m featuring Nicole Deese’s new book, “A New Shade of Summer” on my blog this week, but I’ve FINALLY managed to get around to reading Susan May Warren’s “A Matter of Trust”, and I almost didn’t even want to put it down to do the First Line Friday rounds! But I’ve forced myself to share the first line:

    “Gage Watson blamed the trouble on the bright, sunny day.”

    Praying you all stay safe!

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s so good! Hope you get the chance to read it soon Katie! 🙂

      I want to read “A New Shade of Summer” so badly. Everyone has been raving about it. I need to begin that series from Susan May Warren as well. Love her books! And that is a great first line that makes me want to know more. Thanks for sharing. Happy Weekend! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Stay safe Rebecca! Prayers for you and your family in FL and for all of those that are in the path of this huge storm!

    On my blog this week I’m sharing the first line from a book I just finished. The Case of the Clobbered Cad. It was a fun story to read.

    I’ll share here the first line from a book my son is currently reading.
    Tree Tall and the Whiteskins by Shirlee Evans
    “Tree Tall crept through the high dew-damp grass along the creek bank. It was early. The sun was not yet over the hill.”

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much for praying Trisha! It means a lot. This storm is huge and scary, but God is bigger and He is good. I know He’ll see us through it no matter what happens. I’ve got my books ready to keep me busy and my mind off the storm!

      That’s a lot of detail in that first line! Sounds intriguing. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Great first line! This book is on my wish list!

    Come to a turable mountain that tried us almost to death to git over it.
    -WILLIAM CALK, HIS JURNAL MARCH YE 25TH 1775 SATTERDAY

    APRIL 1777

    What cannot be cured must be endured. A Moonbow Night by Laura Frantz

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve been wanting to read that! It looks so good. Looks like I’m going to have to bump it up on the TBR list because that’s a fantastic first line! Thanks for sharing Caryl. Happy Weekend!

      Like

  5. My first line on my blog is from Colleen Coble. But I grabbed a book beside me for here.
    “He’d found her.” by The Texan’s Courtship Lessons by Noelle Marchand. My mom gave this book to me and I haven’t read it yet.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for your prayers Heather! They mean a lot. This storm is huge, but we’re prepared. We have water, food, and supplies so I think we’ll be okay. We’ll definitely have some impact because the whole state is going to get pounded hard. We actually canceled Night of Joy before they canceled Saturday night because of the storm. It’s a bummer, but safety is a priority right now. 🙂

      Like

  6. Happy Friday!!

    My first line is from For Such a Moment by Marie Wells Coutu:

    “Ellen Nielson scanned the large office, seeking a secret corner where she could escape.”

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Love, love, love this book!!!

    My quote comes from The Pursuit of Lady Harriet by Rachel Anderson. This is book #3 in series. I highly recommend all three novels!

    “‘How dreadful it would be to live on one’s own permanently,’ Lady Harriet Cavendish said to no one in particular as she walked through a thick grove of pines in Askern, Yorkshire.”

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

