First Line Fridays: The Day The Angels Fell by Shawn Smucker

Standard
First Line Fridays: The Day The Angels Fell by Shawn Smucker

FirstLineFridays

Happy Friday?! Can you believe that’s it already Friday? Not only is Friday already, but it’s already September? Where did the time go?

Right now my heart is heavy for those of you who have been affected by Hurricane Harvey this past week. I wish I had a way to help other than just praying, but know that I’m praying for each and every one of you.

Since it’s Friday, grab the closest book to you and leave a comment with the first line.

The book that I’m featuring today is: The Day the Angels Fell by Shawn Smucker

34020282

I haven’t read this yet so I can’t vouch if it’s worth reading, but this is on my soon to be read and reviewed shelf. I’m always looking for a fun YA novel to read so I’m excited to read this one.

And the first line is:

“I am old now. I still live on the same farm where I grew up, the same farm where my mother’s accident took place, the same farm that burned for days after the angels fell.”

Let me know your first line in the comments & then head over to see what First Lines these friends are sharing today:

Bookworm Mama || Singing Librarian Books || Faithfully Bookish || Radiant Light

Encouraging Words from the Tea Queen || All the Book Blog Names are Taken || Robin’s Nest

Fiction Aficionado || Bibliophile Reviews || Kathleen Denly || Lauraine’s Notes

With A Joyful Noise || A Baker’s Perspective || Joy of Reading || C Jane Read

Moments Dipped in Ink || Molly’s Cafinated Reads || Romances of the Cross || Reading is my SuperPower

Iola Goulton || The Christian Fiction Girl || Book Reviews by Tima

Please welcome Alicia to this amazing and not so small gang. Super excited to have you join us!

If you would like to host First Line Fridays on your blog, contact
Carrie at Reading is my SuperPower, Rachel at Bookworm Mama,  Beth at Faithfully Bookish, or Sydney at Singing Librarian Books

26 responses »

  1. I’ve heard of this book, but haven’t read it either. It’s a great first line – a lot of atmosphere!

    I’m currently reading, Embracing Hope by Janell Butler Wojtowicz. Here’s the first line:

    Drew McKinley twisted he gold wedding band around and around his finger then made a tight fist.

    I’m looking forward to getting stuck into it over the weekend.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ll be interested to hear what people think about this one.

    I’ve got the first line from Ronie Kendig’s “Crown of Souls” – Tox! 😍 – on my blog today, but I’m going to share the first line from the book I just finished reading, Tamera Alexander’s “To Wager Her Heart”:

    Alexandra Jamison had always wanted a sister.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hopefully it’s a good one! 🙂

      I want to read “To Wager Her Heart” so bad. I’ve heard so many fantastic things about it. That’s an intriguing first line. Thanks for sharing. Happy Weekend! 🙂

      Like

  3. My first line on my blog is from Lori Benton’s newest release, ‘Many Sparrows’. So as not to spoil the surprise of that line, I’ll share a first line of a book my son is reading.
    “Loony Coon did not even wait for his baby eyes to open to get into his first batch of trouble.”
    Loony Coon by Sam Campbell

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Interesting! Happy Friday! My first line (sorry but actually two lines) is from Outlaw Angel by Miralee Ferrell:

    “Angel Ramirez woke with a start, her heart pounding a rolling beat in her chest. Someone was in her room.”

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Very interesting first line. This sounds like an intriguing book. My first line is: “Felicity took the young gentleman’s arm as they moved away from the dance floor. He was quite handsome, with brown hair and a gentle manner.” This is from “A Dangerous Engagement” by Melanie Dickerson.

    Like

  6. My first line is coming from the next book I’m hoping to read (okay, honest truth, I’ve already started it but have set it aside a week or two).
    “Joyanna Shein glanced at her parents. She knew there was something wrong…there had been something wrong for days.”
    A Question of Honor, by Jesseca Wheaton

    Like

  7. Whoa! That is an amazing hook. I will have to check this book out.

    I am currently reading Many Sparrows by Lori Benton. What an AMAZING book. My first line comes from chapter two:

    “Clare Margaret Inglesby, twenty-six years of age and eight months with child, wondered how she’d come to this: trapped in a jolting wagon advancing into perilous wilderness” (5).

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

