Interview with Jennifer Slattery & Giveaway!

Standard
Interview with Jennifer Slattery & Giveaway!

Hey Loves! Today is another exciting day on the blog because Jennifer Slattery is joining me to chat about her newest release, Healing Love. This is by far one of my favorite reads of 2017 so far! Feel free to check out my review as well.

Jennifer is also offering to giveaway an eBook copy to one of my readers! Stay tuned into the very end to learn more about that.

Tell us a little bit about your inspiration behind Healing Love?

The idea for this book arose as I was flying back to the United States after a week-long mission trip to El Salvador, a trip that simultaneously grabbed and shredded my heart. On our trip, we fell in love with the El Salvador people and culture, saw extreme poverty up close, and served in an orphanage for sexually abused girls. While at the orphanage, I was struck by how desperate the girls were for attention and affection, and I left with a pocketful of letters they had written to me. (Those letters remain in my bedside drawer to this day.)

One of the girls ended her letter with the plea that I not forget her, and by God’s grace, may I forever honor that. In some ways, Healing Love was me working through my own heartache and grief of what I’d seen and learned. In some ways it was me processing what God was calling me to do.

Since a good portion of the book takes place in El Salvador, tell us a little bit about the country.

I absolutely love the country. It’s very tropical, and though they do have cities, like San Miguel and San Salvador, people still live in remote villages with no electricity and running water. The landscape is actually gorgeous, as is their beach. They have black sand–due to volcanic ash.

The people are incredibly friendly, engaging, and giving. They greet you by saying, “Dios Les Bandigo,” which basically means God bless you, and the Christian community at large seemed very connected. Whenever we’d encounter another Christian, whether we were at a restaurant or driving past one who was walking down the road, our translator, with much enthusiasm, would say, “She’s a sister!” Or, “He’s a brother!” I would love to see believers in America, regardless of church or denomination, view one another with such enthusiastic love!

Any favorite scenes?

The beach scene (which I find to be incredibly romantic, even though it was also very unpleasant for Brooke) is by far one of them. I love the protector in Ubaldo, and I saw that side of him most clearly in that scene.

Imagine Healing Love being turned into a movie. If you could pick, who would you choose to play the roles of Booke and Ubaldo?

Oh! I don’t watch movies or TV, so this is challenging. (I’d rather read! 😉 ) But for Ubaldo, maybe Adam Rodriguez? For Brooke … maybe Olivia Wilde?

(That’s largely is appearance only.)

Do you have playlist that inspires you while you’re writing?

I don’t. I like complete silence when I write; I find I’m too easily distracted! Though maybe if I listened to instrumental music … I’ll have to try that. I do like listening to Contemporary Christian when I edit, though.

You touch on some powerful topics in your novel. What is the main important thing that you hope readers will take away from the book?

That God’s love is ever-present, ever-reaching for us, and never-ending, and His love, the deeper we rest in it, brings incredible healing.

Before you go, are you working on anything?

I am! I’m revising a cowboy romance set in a small, fictional town located in the Texas Hill Country, an area I love! I’m also revising a proposal for a tween devotional. I hope to send both to my agent soon!

Thanks so much for having me on your site! This has been fun!

BioPhotoCroppededited2016About Jennifer Slattery

Author, speaker, and ministry leader Jennifer Slattery writes for Crosswalk.com, is the managing and acquiring editor for Guiding Light Women’s Fiction, and the founder of Wholly Loved Ministries, a ministry that exists to help women experience God’s love and discover, embrace, and live out who they are in Christ. She and her team travel to various churches to speak to women and help them experience the love and freedom only Christ can offer. When not writing, editing, or speaking, you’ll likely find her chatting with her friends or husband in a quiet, cozy coffeehouse.

Visit her online at JenniferSlatteryLivesOutLoud.com and connect with her and her Wholly Loved team at WhollyLoved.com

35380240About Healing Love

Genre: Women’s fiction with a strong romantic thread

Dual setting—Southern California, and El Salvador

Add on Goodreads

Purchase a copy here

A news anchor intern has it all planned out, and love isn’t on the agenda.

Brooke Endress is on the cusp of her lifelong dream when her younger sister persuades her to chaperone a mission trip to El Salvador. Packing enough hand sanitizer and bug spray to single-handedly wipe out malaria, she embarks on what she hopes will be a once-in-a-lifetime experience.

But Brooke is blindsided by the desperation for hope and love she sees in the orphans’ eyes. And no less by the connection she feels with her handsome translator. As newfound passion blooms, Brooke wrestles with its implications for her career dreams.

Ubaldo Chavez, teacher and translator, knows the struggle that comes with generational poverty. But he found the way out – education – and is determined to help his students rise above.

When he agrees to translate for a mission team from the United States he expects to encounter a bunch of “missional tourists” full of empty promises. Yet an American news anchor defies his expectations, and he finds himself falling in love. But what does he have to offer someone with everything?

***GIVEAWAY!!!***

And now it’s time for a giveaway! Jennifer Slattery is offering a chance to win an eBook copy of her book Healing Love!

All you have to do is enter through the rafflecopter link below. Any entries not done through the rafflecopter will not be counted. The winner will be contacted be by email.

This giveaway has ended. Thanks to all who have entered. Please feel free to enter in future giveaways. 

Congrats to Renee Martin! 

If you are the winner, you cannot share, reproduce, or sell the ebook in any way.

Click here to enter: a Rafflecopter giveaway

8 responses »

  1. But can I just say that this sounds like an incredible book and just reading the description I have chills? For a girl that loves missions, this sounds amazing!! (:

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

