The Crown by Kiera Cass

Standard
The Crown by Kiera Cass

51DEh8yscHL._SX321_BO1,204,203,200_The Crown by Kiera Cass

Release Date:

Publisher: HarperTeen

ISBN: 9780062392176

Genre: Young Adult / Romance

Series: The Selection, Book Five

Be sure to check out my reviews for the previous books, The Selection, The Elite, The One, and The Heir.

About the Book:

When Eadlyn became the first princess of Illéa to hold her own Selection, she didn’t think she would fall in love with any of her thirty-five suitors. She spent the first few weeks of the competition counting down the days until she could send them all home. But as events at the palace force Eadlyn even further into the spotlight, she realizes that she might not be content remaining alone.

Eadlyn still isn’t sure she’ll find the fairytale ending her parents did twenty years ago. But sometimes the heart has a way of surprising you…and soon Eadlyn must make a choice that feels more impossible—and more important—than she ever imagined.

My Thoughts:

While I found myself enjoying The Crown as the conclusion for The Selection Series, I didn’t exactly love it. Eadlyn has come a long way in this novel. She’s learning to overcome her ways of being selfish so she’s more likeable. However, the writing seemed sloppy, rushed, and all over the place.

Let me explain, the boys that we met in the first book hardly make any appearances. In the first three books, it’s obvious that America is going to end up with Maxon. However, with Eadlyn’s story, you never know who she is going to pick. Not that I’m complaining there. That is part of what makes the book so much fun! My biggest issue was that she kept bouncing back and forth constantly. One minute  she was in love with someone, the next it was some else, and this just happening over and over and over. I will admit, she did try harder with the boys this time, but we hardly see any romance happening with very little dates.

Two of the guys turned out to be homosexuals which was kinda weird. Not just because I believe in traditional marriage: one man, one woman, but more because it seemed random and unneeded. Thankfully the author just mentioned it a few times rather than showed anything, which makes me think she probably threw that in to keep everyone happy since this wasn’t a Christian book.

And then the guy that was chosen was not whom I was expecting. Don’t get me wrong. I really enjoyed this character a ton, but again, that seemed random. I mean, we kind of saw it coming, but it just threw me for a loop because it felt like it came out of nowhere. Although I completely understand the reason why she didn’t choose the guy I was rooting for, but he was more believable.

Some negative notes to address before I conclude: There is mention of when Maxon was abused by his father as a child and illegitimate child. There is also some cursing (lightly, you can almost miss it) and some slight drinking alcoholic beverages at times. Overall, it’s mostly clean.

I did enjoy that we had the opportunity to see her role as a Princess though. It’s not all pretty dresses, parties, and fun. There’s a lot of work that goes into it that can be beyond stressful for one person. I also loved that she repaired her relationship with Marlee’s daughter, Josie. I also enjoyed seeing America and Maxon again and learning about their life after The Selection. Overall, I enjoyed it and this was a nice conclusion to the series despite it feeling rushed.


Add on Goodreads

Purchase at Amazon, Barnes & Noble, or wherever books can be purchased


_cdnYBPc_400x400About Kiera Cass

Kiera Cass is a graduate of Radford University and currently lives in Blacksburg, Virginia, with her family. Her fantasy novel the siren was self-published in 2009. Kiera has kissed approximately fourteen boys in her life. None of them were princes. You can learn more about Kiera’s books, videos, and the love of cake online at www.kieracass.com.

VISIT KIERA at TwitterTumblrInstagram, and Youtube

Leave a Reply

