The Elite by Kiera Cass

Standard
The Elite by Kiera Cass

16248068The Elite by Kiera Cass

Release Date: April 23, 2013

Publisher: HarperTeen

ISBN: 9780062059963

Genre: Romance / Young Adult

Series: The Selection, Book Two

Be sure to see my review for the previous book, The Selection.

About the Book:

The Selection began with thirty-five girls.
Now with the group narrowed down to the six Elite, the competition to win Prince Maxon’s heart is fiercer than ever—and America is still struggling to decide where her heart truly lies. Is it with Maxon, who could make her life a fairy tale? Or with her first love, Aspen?

America is desperate for more time. But the rest of the Elite know exactly what they want—and America’s chance to choose is about to slip away.

My Thoughts:

Normally love triangles annoy me, but I really enjoyed The Elite. Don’t get me wrong, America, Maxon, and Apsen ALL annoyed me quite a bit at times. America, especially, with her constant back and forth with whether or not she wanted to choose Maxon. One minute she was all set and then as soon as the slightest thing happens, she’s back to square one all over again. I get it. She has a lot to consider and she’s still in love with Aspen. I loved watching her character development, but I couldn’t help but scream at her to just choose already instead of whining about it. BUT I STILL enjoyed this book. In fact, I think the reason that I loved this so much is because Kiera Cass uses imperfect people who have a lot to learn.

Although still quite vague, we learned more about the history of Illéa and the rebels. The whole rebel thing still seems quite random and unneeded at the moment, but it was interesting enough to keep my attention. There’s also a little more action happening. Although my biggest question is, why isn’t anyone questioning how the rebels keep getting past the guards and into the palace every single time? Who exactly are these rebels and what is it that they want?

I LOVED every moment of this. The princess lessons, the dresses, the characters, the drama. I enjoyed America’s friendships with her maids. She treats them as equals, as friends, which isn’t something most people would consider. Anne, Mary, and Lucy are all super fun as well. I enjoyed everything about this novel despite the flaws that I mentioned. The content is quite clean although there is a time or two where a character is seen topless in a make out session. There is also a mention of physical abuse.

Overall I enjoyed this one so I highly recommend this read.


Add on Goodreads

Purchase on Amazon, Barnes & Noble or wherever books are sold


_cdnYBPc_400x400About Kiera Cass

Kiera Cass is a graduate of Radford University and currently lives in Blacksburg, Virginia, with her family. Her fantasy novel the siren was self-published in 2009. Kiera has kissed approximately fourteen boys in her life. None of them were princes. You can learn more about Kiera’s books, videos, and the love of cake online at www.kieracass.com.

VISIT KIERA at TwitterTumblrInstagram, and Youtube

7 responses »

  1. Pingback: The One by Kiera Cass | It's Storytime With Van Daniker!

  2. Pingback: The Heir by Kiera Cass | It's Storytime With Van Daniker!

  3. Pingback: The Crown by Kiera Cass | It's Storytime With Van Daniker!

  4. Pingback: July 2017 Wrap Up! | It's Storytime With Van Daniker!

  5. Pingback: The Selection Coloring Book by Kiera Cass | It's Storytime With Van Daniker!

Leave a Reply

