The Selection by Kiera Cass

Standard
The Selection by Kiera Cass

10507293The Selection by Kiera Cass


Release Date:
April 24, 2012

Publisher: HaperTeen

ISBN: 9780062059932

Genre: Young Adult / Romance

Series: The Selection, Book One

About the Book:

For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape the life laid out for them since birth. To be swept up in a world of glittering gowns and priceless jewels. To live in a palace and compete for the heart of gorgeous Prince Maxon.But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her. Leaving her home to enter a fierce competition for a crown she doesn’t want. Living in a palace that is constantly threatened by violent rebel attacks.

Then America meets Prince Maxon. Gradually, she starts to question all the plans she’s made for herself—and realizes that the life she’s always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined.

My Thoughts:

When I first learned about this series, I was immediately drawn by the covers with all of the pretty dresses. Plus, you have to admit that the blurb given for the book is attention grabbing. After finishing reading, I found myself asking why I didn’t bother to pick this one up before. I really enjoyed it!

One would think that it would be The Bachelor meets Hunger Games except that’s not what it is at all. Now I can’t compare it to The Bachelor because I’ve never been interested in shows like that. Although I can it definitely is a lot like that because you have Prince Maxon (the guy who is looking for a wife) and thirty-five girls competing for the spot to become his future wife. As far as it being anything like The Hunger Games, it’s not. There is no blood shed, killing until the death, or anything of that sort. In fact, the girls aren’t even forced to enter The Selection. They are there because they chose to be there.

In fact, this is classified as a dystopia which doesn’t make sense to me because it’s not. Sure it has different castes (different social statuses in society). And yes, quite a few of these groups experience hunger and poverty. Oh and it is a future version of America, except the country is known as Illéa because America embarrassed it’s name so much it didn’t want to go back to that. Other than that, it doesn’t fit the criteria for a dystopia.

The time period was quite fascinating. It takes place in the distant future, but their rules and culture is very much historic like the Regency Era (examples such as: can’t be completely alone with a gentleman, premarital sex is a no-no), except women can wear pants amongst the beautiful dresses.

I absolutely LOVED this book though! I LOVE Prince Maxwell. He’s kind, genuine, truly cares about people, listens, will give you your win of the bet even though you lost. He’s the perfect gentleman that a girl will easily swoon for. I also loved America. She is somewhat shy, a singer who can play almost any instrument, genuine, kind, and could care less about riches. It was so much fun living vicariously through her as she shared her experiences about the competition. The side characters were so much fun! I loved Marlee, Kriss, and Tiny especially! Then there’s Celeste who reminds me a lot of Regina in Mean Girls.

If you’re looking for a good clean read then I highly recommend picking this one up. There were a couple make out scenes that lingered a little too long, but other than that it was perfectly clean.

I’m immediately beginning The Elite because I now need to know what happens next! I’m hoping she explains more about the castes, the rebels, and their history.

Highly recommended!


Add on Goodreads

Purchase your copy at Amazon, Barnes & Noble, or wherever books are sold


_cdnYBPc_400x400About Kiera Cass

Kiera Cass is a graduate of Radford University and currently lives in Blacksburg, Virginia, with her family. Her fantasy novel the siren was self-published in 2009. Kiera has kissed approximately fourteen boys in her life. None of them were princes. You can learn more about Kiera’s books, videos, and the love of cake online at www.kieracass.com.

VISIT KIERA at TwitterTumblrInstagram, and Youtube

9 responses »

  1. Ooh😍😍😍 good job, my friend! Finally you read the book I suggested to you 😍😍😍so I have to confess I choose this series because of the cover 😂😂😂 if you keep reading the complete series you’ll love Maxon more❤

    Like

  2. I honestly loved the first 3 books, but then they brought in homosexual characters by the 5th book in the series; I put down by that point. I loved the angst and the chemistry between the characters. I recommend reading the first 3 books for sure. I just want my Maxon now.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: The Elite by Kiera Cass | It's Storytime With Van Daniker!

  4. Pingback: The One by Kiera Cass | It's Storytime With Van Daniker!

  5. Pingback: The Heir by Kiera Cass | It's Storytime With Van Daniker!

  6. Pingback: The Crown by Kiera Cass | It's Storytime With Van Daniker!

Leave a Reply

