Armchair Book Expo Day 2: What Readers Want & Let’s Collaborate and Listen

Standard
Armchair Book Expo Day 2: What Readers Want & Let’s Collaborate and Listen

buttonlarger

Hey Loves! Welcome to the second day of Armchair Book Expo! Today I’m excited to talk with you about what readers want and then we’re going to have a collaborate & listen session.

What Readers Want:

What makes or breaks a book? How do we rate the books, or determine if it is good literature or a good story?

I enjoy clean reads (meaning no explicit content or tons of inappropriate language) filled with characters that I can connect with. No one enjoys characters that have no growth and development, seem distant, and way too far fetched. Books that contain the right amount of description that keep me wanting to turn the pages will also make a book for me. If it’s too wordy that the description feels draining and takes away from the enjoyment of the book, I will put it down. The writing style is also quite important to make a book for me. I enjoy a classy writing style where it’s obvious that editing and proofreading has occurred. I also want to be drawn into the novel where I feel as if I’m right there with the characters and scenery.

What do we want from an author event? How does diversity representation fit into all of this?

I’ve never been to an actual author event yet so I’m not sure how to answer this one. I really want to one day! When it comes to author events, I expect the author to take the time to talk to her fans and to be real with us. I don’t want to see the author just sign your books and that’s that. As a booklover, we want to see the author as a human that we can connect with. We feel as if we know the author through their books. So when an author takes the time to interact with their fans, it means a lot to the book world.

Let’s Collaborate & Listen

The online book community has changed so much over the years. How do we keep up within our own book-sphere as well as within the community as a whole (i.e., libraries, bookstores, authors, publishers, etc.)? 

This is only my second of having joined the blogging world so I don’t really have anything to compare it to. Most of what I learned about blogging I had to teach myself by spending countless hours on Google. I had no one to walk me through anything. However, I’ve had the opportunity to be a part of several launch teams and other bookish groups where other bloggers had come alongside me and helped answer some of the questions I had.

I haven’t used my public library in years. I was the girl who spent countless hours at the library browsing books and coming home with a stack higher than I could actually read. Well that is if they had anything that I wanted in stock. For some reason they would only purchase like two copies of the book for the entire county so you usually had to wait on hold for it to finally be your turn to read it. Especially if it were a popular title like the latest Harry Potter novel that everyone wanted to read. Oh and you only had two weeks to read practically every single book. By the time it would be my turn, I have already forgotten about it, purchased it, and have read it. So I’ve pretty much stopped using it because I was tired of waiting on hold for something or having to request them to either buy the book or borrow through inter-library loan.

I absolutely love bookstores. My favorite bookstore is a small town used bookstore called The Book Shack which is located in Dade City, Florida. It’s about an hour away from me but totally worth the drive. In fact, this is pretty much the closest bookstore from where I live. They have a huge selection of books to choose from, are super friendly (they know me by name and I’ve only been in there like twice!), and they even have program where they will give you store credit when you donate books. That’s the kind of bookstore I love to support. Nothing against bookstores like Barnes & Noble. I still shop there, but I love supporting locally based bookstores if I can find them.

I love seeing author, publisher and even fellow blogger interaction. It makes my day when an author retweets a review or even comments on something that I’ve posted. Some authors have even become good friends. When authors share our stuff, it opens us up to more potential followers that we wouldn’t have been able to get ourselves. Blogging is hard and we need all the help that we can get. I would also like to see more bloggers following, sharing, and commenting other bloggers. Let’s support the author and their books by spreading the word instead of it being a popularity contest. Plus, we all could use some help in spreading the word about our blogs.

2 responses »

  1. Hi again!! I still can’t tell you how happy I am that you joined this with me!! I’m in good company!!

    I have to agree with you on having to teach yourself on blogging. That’s what I had to do in 2009 when I started my blog as well. And it’s always awesome when the authors interact! A simple retweet of my tweet always puts a smile on my face. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m so excited! It let me register but it looks like it’s too late to share your blog posts with them on their site. Oh well, I’ll still post anyways because I love the prompts. 🙂

      Google knows everything and was a really great teacher. lol. And yes! I always feel like an overexcited fangirl whenever an author retweets something. Haha.

      Like

Leave a Reply

