Tuesday Talks: What Are Your Thoughts On Indie Authors?

Standard
Tuesday Talks: What Are Your Thoughts On Indie Authors?

tuesdaytalks2

Hello Everyone! Welcome to Tuesday Talks with It’s Storytime with Van Daniker!

Tuesdays Talks is a Goodreads group for anyone who loves to discuss certain topics covering books, authors, libraries, book stores and so much more. Tuesday Talks consists mainly of Book tubers and bloggers, but anyone can join on discussions and can share their thoughts. We also encourage input from members on topics to discuss as well.

You can find Tuesday Talks here.

Today’s topic is: What Are Your Thoughts On Indie Authors?

Well in order to answer that question, we need to first define what an indie author is. An indie author is basically an author who does not have their books published through the traditional route. In other words, these are authors who choose to self-publish rather than going through a publisher.

I’m not against indie authors, but I do have mixed feelings about them. I’ve come across some amazing authors who have self-published their books. Look at April W. Gardner,  Carol Kinsey, Melissa Tagg (who has books published both ways), and Katie Ganshert (also has books published both ways) for example. These ladies are all super sweet and have great quality to the their work in a professional sense. Plus all of their books are books that I would typically read. These are the authors that stand out from the crowd.

However, indie authors tend to have to do a lot more of their marketing all by themselves so they can be a little pushier on you to try their book. These are also authors who don’t seem to professionally edit or proofread their work before releasing it out into the world. This causes the books to show poor quality and not worth reading. Usually these are the kind of books that wouldn’t move past the slush pile at a traditional publisher. In other words, they’re not ready to be published yet.

And don’t get me started on the cover designs. Most of the time they are so badly photo-shopped that it makes me bulk and wonder why they chose it. I’ve seen a couple of these authors steal covers from other authors as well.

I never read a book from an indie author unless it looks professionally done and something that I would personally enjoy. I’m also not saying that this is all indie authors, but this a lot of what I’ve seen of them.

How about you? What do you think of Indie Authors?

2 responses »

  1. Becky, I agree with your assessment of indie authors…. I have encountered some fantastic indie authors (some formerly professionally published, like Melissa Tagg and others), and I have encountered some now-so-polished in story and presentation. Overall, I am happy that authors are able to independently market their stories because some of them JUST NEED TO BE READ! I think being more familiar with authors in a certain genre makes it easier to distinguish ahead of time what I will or won’t like. I do pay attention to author endorsements, too, so that also influences whether or not I will pick up and indie book and try it.

    Some of my favorite indie books in the Christian fiction genre are:
    The Lady and the Lionheart by Joanne Bischof
    Just the Way You Are by Pepper Basham
    Told You So by Kristen Heitzmann

    Liked by 1 person

    • Courtney, I completely agree! Those are some fabulous authors that you’ve mentioned. Endorsements whether it’s by fellow bloggers or authors always help in deciding whether a book is worth the read or not. I agree with being familiar with authors in a particular genre because that truly helps in determining what the book is going to be like.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

