Tuesday Talks: Books Out Of Your Comfort Zone That You Have Enjoyed

Standard
Tuesday Talks: Books Out Of Your Comfort Zone That You Have Enjoyed

tuesdaytalks2

Hello Everyone! Welcome to Tuesday Talks with It’s Storytime with Van Daniker!

Tuesdays Talks is a Goodreads group for anyone who loves to discuss certain topics covering books, authors, libraries, book stores and so much more. Tuesday Talks consists mainly of Book tubers and bloggers, but anyone can join on discussions and can share their thoughts. We also encourage input from members on topics to discuss as well.

You can find Tuesday Talks here.

Today’s topic is: Books Out Of Your Comfort That You Have Enjoyed

I’m one of those readers who doesn’t typically stay within one genre so it’s rare when I come across a book that is out of my comfort zone that I’ve enjoyed. I can only think of two off the top of my head. These were books in genres that I usually avoid like the plague, but I ended up giving a chance.

  1. The Tears of Dark Water by Corbin Addison
    26404001

    Summary taken from the back of the book:
    Daniel and Vanessa Parker are an American success story. He is a Washington, DC, power broker, and she is a physician with a thriving practice. But behind the gilded facade, their marriage is a shambles, and their teenage son, Quentin, is self-destructing. In desperation, Daniel dusts off a long-delayed dream a sailing trip around the world. Little does he know, the voyage he hopes will save them may destroy them instead.Half a world away on the lawless coast of Somalia, Ismail Adan Ibrahim is living a life of crime in violation of everything he was raised to believe except for the love and loyalty driving him to hijack ships for ransom and plot the rescue of his sister, Yasmin, from the man who murdered their father. There is nothing he will not do to save her, even if it means taking innocent lives.

    Paul Derrick is the FBI s top hostage negotiator. His twin sister, Megan, is a celebrated defense attorney. They have reached the summit of their careers by savvy, grit, and a secret determination to escape the memory of the day their family died. When Paul is dispatched to handle a hostage crisis at sea, he has no idea how far it will take him and Megan into the past or the chance it will give them to redeem the future.

    Across continents and oceans, through storms and civil wars, the paths of these individuals converge in a single, explosive moment. It is a moment that will test them and break them, but it will also leave behind an unexpected glimmer of hope that out of the ashes of tragedy and misfortune, the seeds of justice and reconciliation can grow.”

    Why this was out of my comfort zone:
    I am not a big fan of books about terrorists or politics. This is not the kind of book that I would typically read but I gave it a chance because The Fiction Guild so kindly sent me a review copy. To my surprise, I did end up enjoying it and it opened my eyes to these issues. I’m glad I read it although it isn’t among my favorite reads.

  2. House by Ted Dekker and Frank Peretti
    19747756
    Summary taken from the back of the book:
    A mind-bending supernatural thriller from the creators of This Present Darkness and Saint.
    Frank Peretti and Ted Dekker — two of the most acclaimed writers of supernatural thrillers — have joined forces for the first time to craft a story unlike any you’ve ever read. Enter House — where you’ll find yourself thrown into a killer’s deadly game in which the only way to win is to lose… and the only way out is in.

    The stakes of the game become clear when a tin can is tossed into the house with rules scrawled on it. Rules that only a madman—or worse—could have written. Rules that make no sense yet must be followed.

    One game. Seven players. Three rules. Game ends at dawn.

    Why this was out of my comfort zone:
    I have never been a huge fan of horror film and books. Honestly, I think as Christians we should stay away from that kind of stuff. However, a friend in high school recommended this book to me and I gave it a chance. It’s creepy but not so over the top creepy. If you like Goosebumps, then perhaps you’d like this one. I vaguely remember it because I read it so long and it I never considered it a favorite even though I enjoyed it. I loved the messages it contained and it had me hooked.


    Like I said earlier, it’s rare when I venture out into a book out of my comfort zone. Thse are the two that I can think of.

    How about you? Are there any books that you read outside of your comfort that you enjoyed? If so, what were they? Let me know in the comments below.

Leave a Reply

