Tuesday Talks: Does A Status As A Classic Make It Good?

Standard
Tuesday Talks: Does A Status As A Classic Make It Good?

tuesdaytalks2

Hello Everyone! Welcome to Tuesday Talks with It’s Storytime with Van Daniker!

Tuesdays Talks is a Goodreads group for anyone who loves to discuss certain topics covering books, authors, libraries, book stores and so much more. Tuesday Talks consists mainly of Book tubers and bloggers, but anyone can join on discussions and can share their thoughts. We also encourage input from members on topics to discuss as well.

You can find Tuesday Talks here.

Today’s topic is: Does a status as a classic make it good?

A book that has the status as classic would be those such as Pride and Prejudice, The Great Gatsby, or The Catcher in the Rye. In my opinion, just because a book is classed as a classic does not mean that it will be good.

Although I haven’t reviewed any on the blog, I love to read classics. Some are favorites while others never get read again. I’ve come across classics that just weren’t good.

For example, Journey to the Center of the Earth by Jules Verne was a book that I originally read because I loved the movie with Brandon Fraser. I deemed this classic as not that good because it was too wordy and filled with too much science that I found it boring.

Not always do I deem a classic not that great because of it’s wordiness but also because of the content. The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald is one of these. I know many of you love this book, but I don’t find it romantic to read about cheating on their spouses.Yes, I love the fact that two lovebirds find love years later down the line, but Daisy was a married woman. Yes, her husband was a terrible man, but nonetheless, she was still married. That didn’t sit right with me.

Just because a book has the status as a classic doesn’t mean it’s going to be good. We all have different opinions so what I may not like may not be something you like. That’s the fun of this discussion.

Now it’s your turn. Does a book that has the status as a classic make it good? What are your thoughts?

About Becky

I’m Becky! I’m 25 years old and I recently had the opportunity to be on the street team for one of the authors that I enjoy reading. This was an opportunity where I helped her promote her new release. Through this experience I learned that I enjoyed learning about different ways to promote books. Reading has always been a passion of mine and I love helping other authors, especially ones who aren’t known very well, and promote their books in any way that I can. I love Jesus, relaxing by the beach, listening to music, spending time with my friends and family, superheroes, and my two awesome puppies. I graduated with a degree in counseling from Trinity College of Florida in 2014 and spent a year studying the Word of God at Word of Life Florida Bible Institute in 2010.

Leave a Reply

