Beneath the Blackberry Moon: The Red Feather by April W. Gardner

Standard
Beneath the Blackberry Moon: The Red Feather by April W. Gardner

B28672968eneath the Blackberry Moon: Part One: The Red Feather by April W. Gardner

Release Date: January 19, 2016

Publisher: Big Spring Press

ISBN: 9780981989617

Genre: Fiction / Historical Fiction / Romance

Series: Creek County Saga, Book One

About the Book

(taken from Goodreads)

War, captivity, hunger that will not be denied. And a blackberry moon with enough pull to endure the test of time.

Frontierswoman Adela McGirth has never feared her neighbors, the Creek Indians, but a suspicious encounter with a steely-eyed warrior shakes her confidence. As dreaded, a skirmish with the natives sends her family fleeing into a hastily constructed fort. But no picket is strong enough to hold off a party of warriors who fear nothing but the loss of their ancient ways.

Totka Lawe, a Red Stick bound by honor to preserve his heritage, will do what he must to expel the whites from Muscogee soil. But in the midst of battle, he is assigned to protect those he’s expected to hate and kill. One of whom is the copper-haired woman who has haunted his thoughts since that strange night under the blackberry moon. The war was simpler before his enemy became a beautiful face with a gentle warrior’s spirit he cannot resist.

But what woman would have a warrior whose blood-soaked hands destroyed her life?

Then again…does she have a choice?


My Thoughts

Where do I even begin? Beneath the Blackberry Moon is incredible!

I’m one of those people that doesn’t bother to read what the book is about because I like to be surprised as I’m reading. If you love history and romance mixed in with Christian influence, you’ll want to check this one out.

The pages are filled with tons of history that make the story flow beautifully. We’ve all heard certain stories of history about the frontiersmen and Indian tribes, but this was a bit of history that tends to get skipped over. Most of us are familiar with the War of 1812 which was the bigger priority at the time, but aren’t familiar with the Creek Wars. I loved seeing history come to life in story format. Gardner includes a glossary of terms with explanations, a timeline, and more about the real life characters at the back of the book. She explains the history incredibly well that I felt like I was there in 183-1814 with the characters, experiencing everything they are experiencing. In fact, I was so engrossed with the history that I found myself doing a little bit of research for myself because I was curious to know more.

Gardner described the places and characters beautifully. Totka, Adela, Singing Grass, Amadayh, Nokose, Lillian, Galena, and many other characters become like friends and family. They’re memorable long after the book is finished.

I can’t imagine experiencing some of the experiences that Adela experienced, but she displays love, compassion, and forgiveness towards those who have wronged her. This was beautifully done because she this couldn’t have been easy. I mean, if you were in Adela’s shoes and all of your friends and family were murdered in a massacre by the Red Skins and then taken captive as slaves, would you have done the same thing? The struggles and pain are real. You’ll laugh, cry, cheer. It has all of the feels!

Adela even uses this experience to share her faith with the Muscogee people.

There is also the theme of marriage. Adela is a strong believer in God and refuses to be unequally yoked. Totka’s culture is so different from her’s, but he respects her choices even though he doesn’t understand.

Highly recommended for anyone and everyone!

This would be perfect for teachers and homeschoolers to use because there is so much history in story form that it could be used for a several subjects.

Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book from the publisher for my honest review, which I have given. I was not required to write a positive review and have not been compensated for it in any way. All opinions expressed are my own.


13567411_631726183656468_6544125230043461786_n

Add on Goodreads

Purchase your copy on Amazon

Visit April on TwitterFacebook, or on her website


beach_headshotAbout the Author

APRIL W GARDNER writes history with a Christian perspective and a little imagination.
 
She is a copyeditor, military wife, and homeschooling mother of two who lives in Texas. She writes Christian historical romance with a focus on our Southeastern Native tribes. In no particular order, April dreams of owning a horse, learning a third language, and visiting all the national parks.
14 responses »

  1. Oh, Becky, thank you! You’re a girl after my own history-loving heart. It sort of boggles the mind how this era and setting have gone unmentioned through the centuries. I clap my hands at your additional research! That’s what I do too. 🙂 Thanks again, Becky! So glad you enjoyed the story.

    Like

    • I know! I feel like this is such a huge piece of history that you’d think it would be heard of more often. I’ve heard of tribes that have taken captives and such, but how have I never heard about events such as Fort Mims and such? Thank you so much for writing this beautiful book! I’m currently reading The Sacred Writings now! Loving your books so much! I’d love to have you on the blog for an author interview if you’re interested. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • I’d be honored to come for an author interview! Tell me when, and I’m your girl. 🙂
        I’m stoked about you enjoying The Sacred Writings. Keep a sharp eye out for Mink! I’m writing her story now (Love the War Woman).

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I read a novel last year that is set during the War of 1812 & mentioned the Creek wars as part of a secondary character’s back story & I thought this should have been given more attention – The Red Feather has now moved up in my “want to read” list 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Pingback: Beneath the Blackberry Moon: The Sacred Writings by April W. Gardner | It's Storytime With Van Daniker!

  4. Pingback: March 2017 Wrap Up | It's Storytime With Van Daniker!

  5. Pingback: Beneath the Blackberry Moon: The Ebony Cloak by April W. Gardner | It's Storytime With Van Daniker!

  6. Pingback: Drawn by the Frost Moon: Bitter Eyes No More by April W. Gardner | It's Storytime With Van Daniker!

Leave a Reply

