Because You’re Mine by Colleen Coble

Standard
Because You’re Mine by Colleen Coble

29492033Because You’re Mine by Colleen Coble

Release Date: January 10, 2017

Publisher: Thomas Nelson

ISBN:  9780718083809

Genre: Suspense / Romance / Contemporary / Gothic

Colleen Coble is one of those authors that I don’t have to know what the story is going to be about because her books are usually superb. Because You’re Mine is quite different from the author’s other books. Although I did find myself enjoying this, this wasn’t my favorite.

About the Book:

(taken from the back cover)

Alanna has been plagued by tragedy. So it should come as no surprise that in the beauty that surrounds Charleston, all is not as it seems.

When her husband is killed by a car bomb while their band is on tour in Charleston, Alanna doesn’t know where to turn. Her father-in-law is threatening to take custody of the baby she carries, but the one thing she knows for sure is that she can’t lose the last piece of Liam she has left.

Their manager offers her a marriage of convenience to gain her U.S. citizenship and allow her to escape her father-in-law’s control. It seems like the perfect solution . . . but her doubts begin almost as soon as she arrives at Barry’s family home, a decaying mansion surrounded by swamp.

To make matters worse, Liam’s best friend survived the car bomb. She’s never really liked Jesse and now she can’t seem to get away from him. When he takes Liam’s place in their band, it’s almost more than she can bear.

But then things start happening. Things that could easily cost Alanna her life—or the life of her unborn child. Are they merely coincidences? Or is there something much more sinister at work?

My Thoughts:

Like many of Colleen Coble’s covers, Because You’re Mine is gorgeous. It immediately grabs the attention and makes you wonder what is in store for the character.

I loved that Alanna has natural vibrant red hair because my hair is naturally red. Okay okay, I know, my hair is auburn so it’s not a true red like Alanna’s. Random Fact: Did you know that only 1% of people worldwide are born with red hair? That means Alanna and I are unique and rare. How cool is that?

The Irish band, Ceol, is based on the real life all-female Irish musical ensemble, Celtic Woman. That is fascinating. I’ve heard of Celtic Woman, but I never knew any of their music. Because You’re Mine had me look for a playlist to play in the background for inspiration. Coble even put together her own playlist for the book! Click here to check out the Spotify playlist.

I’ve always been fascinated by anything Irish, well actually anything European. I don’t know a ton about the Irish, but it was intriguing and refreshing to have an Irish character. Many authors in the Christian fiction world have introduced characters from England, Scotland, Germany, and even Roseanna M. White introduced us to a Russian character recently. Usually these types of characters are found in historical fiction so it was refreshing to see a different ethnic background in a contemporary novel. This was the first time that I discovered an Irish character. (Side Note: If you have any recommendations with characters that are Irish or takes place in Ireland, let me know in the comments below! I’ve love to explore them!)

The Irish sentence structure is different from ours here in America, but the way the characters spoke didn’t seem authentic. It reminded me more of Yoda speak. A lot of their wording was repetitive while speaking the same sentence. In the beginning, it annoyed me. However, as the book continued, I noticed it less.

And the scenery! Coble described the buildings on the ranch, the lagoon, and the beach as if one were actually there. I felt like I could smell and taste the ocean. Most of the book takes place in Charleston, South Carolina which is described beautifully.

Alanna’s character was enjoyable although I felt that she reacted naively and irrationally at times. Perhaps the fact that she was grieving, pregnant, and dealing with a new husband, his family and such, it makes sense.

Jesse was probably my favorite character. I loved watching his journey as he discovered who he was and learned about forgiveness.

It’s not exactly a suspense novel like it’s categorized as. It’s very much a Gothic novel. This is refreshing and different from many books within the Christian fiction genre. Unlike many of Coble’s novels, this one wasn’t overtly Christian. Every now and then there were references about God and the Bible, but there was very little mention.

There is talk about demon possession or whether or not a dead person’s spirit can enter someone, a banshee, and an exorcism. I thought these topics were kind of odd. Especially since some of the scenes were predictable, but perhaps this is just part of the Irish culture?

And then there’s Ciara. While she wasn’t a character that stuck out to me, she was a good friend to Alanna. She genuinely cared about her and wasn’t afraid to tell her the hard truth. She’s obviously been around to have some kind of sense because she had a really bad feeling about a certain someone. Even though Alanna wouldn’t listen to reason and often was annoyed at her friend when it came to her decision about this certain person, Ciara never stopped being there for her friend.

While this was an enjoyable read, this wasn’t my favorite. I’m not sure if this would be one that I would recommend. It’s definitely not of those that I think you need to read, but it wasn’t Coble’s best. I would recommend most of her other novels over this one.

I’m glad I gave this one a shot because it’s different from what I usually read.

Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book from the publisher for my honest review, which I have given. I was not required to write a positive review and have not been compensated for it in any way. All opinions expressed are my own.


15977656_1322764161124436_4749768044574839858_n

 Add on Goodreads

Purchase a copy at AmazonBarnes & Noble, or Christianbook.com

Visit Colleen Coble at her websiteTwitter, or on Facebook


colleen-coble

About Colleen Coble

USAToday bestselling author Colleen Coble lives with her husband, Dave, in Indiana. She is the author of dozens of novels including the Rock Harbor Series, the Aloha Reef Series, the Mercy Falls Series, the Hope Beach Series, the Lonestar Series and two Women of Faith fiction selections, Alaska Twilight and Midnight Sea. She has more than 2 million books in print.

3 responses »

  1. You’re quite right in saying this novel was a bit different from Colleen’s typical stories. I liked it but really wanted more from it, somehow. I think the premise had a ton of potential that wasn’t realized.

    If you are interested in my review of Because You’re Mine, it’s here: https://thegreenmockingbird.wordpress.com/2017/02/01/review-because-youre-mine-by-colleen-coble/

    Now that you have pointed it out, it is a little rare to encounter a book character with an Irish ethnic background. Another series I really LOVED with Irish-heritage characters was Julie Lessman’s Daughters of Boston series (first book: A Passion Most Pure). I would highly recommend it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I completely agree with you Courtney. She had a fantastic premise that I really wanted more from. I love your review!

      I’ve been hearing that Julie Klassen’s books are fantastic. I’m making a note to pick that one up when I go book shopping. Thanks for the recommendation! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

