A Portrait of Emily Price by Katherine Reay

Standard
A Portrait of Emily Price by Katherine Reay

29492025A Portrait of Emily Price by Katherine Reay

Release Date: November 1, 2016

Publisher: Thomas Nelson

ISBN: 9780718077914

Genre: Romance / Contemporary / Chick Lit

“A Portrait of Emily Price” is a mixture of a love story, Italy, art, true love, and redemption.

Emily Price is an art restorer, a talented at that! If it’s broken, Emily can fix it. Whether it’s from art, children’s toys, coffee machines, and so forth, Emily knows how to fix it while making it even more beautiful than it was before. She soon learns that not everything can just be super-glued together. When she flies to Italy to live with her husband and his family, utter chaos ensues.

I know, that’s a vague description of the book, but this is a must read that I believe it gives a general idea of what the book is about without spoiling.

I LOVED this latest novel. Emily can fix anything, but she is realistically flawed and I loved her as well her big chaotic Italian family. Ben is Italian, swoon-worthy, super sweet, and a romantic. He was perfect for Emily. I loved all of Emily’s new family, but I especially loved Ben’s father, Lucio, who plays a huge role in Emily’s life and points out to her a truth that only he can get through to her. The characters became like close family and friends. They were beautiful despite their messiness. As the plot continues, things get really messy.

The vivid descriptions of the art in the book was amazing. Normally I struggle with envisioning the art described in literature, but I could see Emily’s paintings as if I were looking through her eyes. The descriptions were not long-winded or boring, but beautiful aspects to the story. I’d love to see an artist make those paintings described a reality. I also learned a lot of art that I hadn’t known. Sometimes random facts can take away from the story be out of place like a textbook, but that isn’t the case here. They were a perfectly fun fit. Oh and don’t even get me started on the food. I felt like I could smell and taste it.I also loved the Tuscan setting and felt as if I were actually there. Someday, I will see the thing.

Katherine Reay never failed to include famous literature quotes. These were my favorite and I found myself adding many of the titles to my to-be-read list on Goodreads. I couldn’t help but squeal with excitement when the Emma reference appeared for that is my favorite novel.

While I enjoyed the characters, the art, and the setting, I really enjoyed the faith elements in the story. Faith and redemption were major themes. They were not done in a watered down preachy kind of way. They flowed through the story perfectly. It was amazing to watch Emily’s faith become real through the story. The biggest lesson she learned was that while she may not be able to fix everything, she can let Jesus fix everything.

I highly recommend this one! Just pull up a chair, get comfortable, grab a cup of tea and just read.

Oh! And listen to this fun playlist as you read. It will capture the mood and book perfectly.

Note: I tried to copy the embed code for the Spotify playlist in here, but if it doesn’t show you can find the link here.

Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book from the publisher for my honest review, which I have given. I was not required to write a positive review and have not been compensated for it in any way. All opinions expressed are my own.


Purchase your copy at AmazonBarnes & Noble, or Christianbook.com

Add on Goodreads

fb_img_1477667465500


1520790_398284423651964_1152776687295739622_nAbout Katherine Reay

Katherine Reay has lived all across the country and Europe and has just moved with her family to Chicago. She is a writer, wife, mom, runner, and, most randomly, a tae kwon do black belt. Her award-winning debut novel, “Dear Mr. Knightley,” is a contemporary story with a dash of Jane Austen and other nineteenth century writers thrown in for the fun of it. Her subsequent novels, “Lizzy & Jane” and “The Bronte Plot” and “A Portrait of Emily Price” feature stories of hope, reconciliation, family, some seriously good food and travel.

Leave a Reply

