Illuminae by Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff

Standard
Illuminae by Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff

23395680Illuminae by Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff

Release Date: October 20, 2015

Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers

ISBN:  9780553499117

Genre: Fantasy / Science Fiction / Young Adult

Series: The Illuminae Files _01

When I first picked this up, I wasn’t sure what to think. It sounded like a really interesting read, but it is one of the most hyped up books EVER. Everyone has been telling me I have to read this and it’s constantly showing up in my Instagram newsfeed. The cover for the hardback is also super cool. While it took a little bit for me to enjoy it, I have to say that I LOVED THIS BOOK!

Illuminae is completely different from any other book I have ever read. It is told through transcripts of recordings, interviews, instant messaging, emails, and so forth. It even has really neat pictures! I found myself flying through 600 pages like there was no tomorrow. It’s rare when a huge book feels incredibly short.

Now to explain the plot, except, I’m not even sure how to describe the plot without giving anything away. I mean, it’s one of those you have to read it to understand kind of plots. The story is about a teenage girl named Kady, and a boy named Ezra, who find themselves forced to flee along with the rest of their planet, Kerenza IV when a mega corporation decides to attack their planet and try to take over an illegally run mine on the tiny planet. This mega corporation is known as Bei-Tech and they are killing civilians and anything that points to any evidence of them trying to illegally mine stuff.

The characters and the whole atmosphere of the book was incredible.

Kady is a fun and unique character. She is sarcastic, smart, witty, blunt, flawed, strong, and loving. She was easy to love as a character and I loved watching her show off as a genius computer hacker. Her relationship with Ezra is shaky in the beginning, but can you blame it? She broke up with him just before the invasion happened. She never imagined that her planet was going to be invaded and then having to flee for her life.

Ezra was unique as well. He is madly in love with Kady and will do anything to make sure she is safe. I loved him as a character as well.

Then there’s AIDEN, or AI, the psychopathic computer. Seriously, it’s a psychopath and downright scary. I think AI was well-written and fit the book perfectly. The way it interacted with each character, especially with Kady, incredibly.

I loved how the book began slow and then progressed more and more as it continued on until it turned into a huge mess that had me reading until I finally finished it. I’m pretty sure I finished this in one sitting. I originally started it thinking I would just check it out and found myself about 500 pages when I finally looked up. It’s exciting and I CANNOT WAIT TO BEGIN READING GEMINA SOON. Hopefully, I will begin it soon. I NEED TO KNOW WHAT HAPPENS NEXT! I’ve never seen anything like it.

Now I do have to mention that is a secular book. Although it is “censored” there is a ton of cursing throughout. It is kind of the end of the world as they know it so I can’t expect there to be perfect language, but that is something I wish the book did not contain. It also contained a few sexual references as jokes a few times early on in the book.


Add to Goodreads

Purchase at Amazon, Barnes & Noble, or The Book Despository


5360335About Amie Kaufman

Amie Kaufman is the New York Times bestselling co-author of Illuminae (with Jay Kristoff) and These Broken Stars, This Shattered World, and Their Fractured Light (with Meagan Spooner.) She writes science fiction and fantasy for teens, and her favourite procrastination techniques involve chocolate, baking, sailing, excellent books and TV, plotting and executing overseas travel, and napping.

She lives in Melbourne, Australia with her husband, their rescue dog, and her considerable library. She is represented by Tracey Adams of Adams Literary.

4735144About Jay Kaufman

Jay Kristoff is the New York Times and internationally bestselling author of THE LOTUS WAR, THE ILLUMINAE FILES and THE NEVERNIGHT CHRONICLE. He is the winner of two Aurealis Awards, an ABIA, nominee for the David Gemmell Morningstar and Legend awards, named multiple times in the Kirkus and Amazon Best Teen Books list and published in over twenty-five countries, most of which he has never visited. He is as surprised about all of this as you are. He is 6’7 and has approximately 13030 days to live. He abides in Melbourne with his secret agent kung-fu assassin wife, and the world’s laziest Jack Russell.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Gemina by Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff | It's Storytime With Van Daniker!

Leave a Reply

