An Elegant Facade by Kristi Ann Hunter

Standard
An Elegant Facade by Kristi Ann Hunter

27066722An Elegant Facade by Kristi Ann Hunter

Release Date: July 5, 2016

Publisher: Bethany House

ISBN: 9780764218255

Genre: Historical / Fiction / Romance

Series: Hawthorne House

If you love anything Regency era, you’ll definitely want to check this one out. This is the third book in the Hawthorne House series, but you don’t need to read them in order. I didn’t, but I plan to because this one was amazing. All of the characters connect so I’m sure it much more fun to read them in order.

I absolutely loved An Elegant Facade. In the beginning, I really disliked Georgina. She is a snooty spoiled brat whose main goal was to further her place in society and to marry well. The man she had to marry couldn’t be just any man either. He had to have status and money. However, as the story carried on, I began to really like the girl. Her snootiness is all a ruse! While I do not condone many of her thoughts and actions, I can easily understand where she’s coming from. She has so many insecurities that she keeps hidden and she will do whatever it takes to keep anyone from finding out. By the end of the book, I loved Georgina.

The book is beautifully done and I felt like I was reading a classic from the era. Most of the book seemed to work on getting Georgina to slowly peel away the many layers of herself until she was her true self. I found myself wanting to root for her in the end. In fact, I cheered and cried on her behalf all throughout the book.

Georgina also has a really big secret. No one but her maid knew. She was quite clever at how she hid it from her family. It was quite interesting because I don’t think I’ve ever read anything about any kind of disability in historical fiction before. It was eye opening and made me wonder how a reading disability affected a lady of that time period. Ok, so at first I thought it was kind of odd. Why is dyslexia a bad thing? But Kristi Ann Hunter does an excellent job at explaining that in this time period, ladies were expected to run the house. Reading and writing were required to do these tasks. This added to the story and made it quite interesting.

Now let me talk a little bit about Colin. He is probably one of the best male leads I have read this year. He is respectable and honorable. He refused to allow Georgina to keep up her facade in front of him. He tried to encourage her to tell her family her secret, but he never pressured her to reveal it. He is a man of character and quickly won me over. I loved that he was the only one who saw through her facade and still cared about her. Plus, he’s from Scotland so that’s pretty awesome. He’s also quite humorous and witty which is a good thing because it takes a lot to be able to keep up with Georgina.

Overall, I was entertained all throughout the book. I give a 5 out 5 stars! Totally looking forward to the next book which is Trent’s story!

Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book from the publisher for my honest review, which I have given. I was not required to write a positive review and have not been compensated for it in any way. All opinions expressed are my own.


13406766_10209276733897413_2523918304275912673_n

Purchase your copy at AmazonBarnes & Noble, or Christianbook.com.


10984468_690222041077758_6748890996059278915_nAbout Kristi Ann Hunter

Kristi Ann Hunter graduated from Georgia Tech with a degree in computer science but always knew she wanted to write. Kristi is the author of the Hawthorne House series and a 2016 RITA Award winner and Christy Award finalist. She lives with her husband and three children in Georgia. Find her online at http://www.kristiannhunter.com.

One response »

  1. Pingback: An Uncommon Courtship by Kristi Ann Hunter | It's Storytime With Van Daniker!

Leave a Reply

