Lost in Thought by Cara Bertrand

Standard
Lost in Thought by Cara Bertrand

18722328Lost in Thought by Cara Bertrand

Release Date: April 25, 2014

Publisher:  Luminis Books, Inc.

ISBN: 9781935462934

Genre: Fantasy / Paranormal / Romance / Young Adult / Science Fiction

Series: The Sentenia, Book 1

Let’s just be honest, I was automatically drawn in by the cover. It’s gorgeous and makes you wonder what it’s about. I enjoy books that have young teens feeling different from the world and discovering they have powers. Lost in Thought is very different from most books because while it does take place at a boarding school with teens who have too much freedom and money, that isn’t the sole purpose of the book.

Cara Bertrand is not an author that I was familiar when first starting out the book and I’m so glad that I gave it a chance because this book was awesome. Her writing style isn’t your typical young adult writing style with choppy incomplete sentences and such. It was beautifully written with excellent grammar. Her descriptions made you feel as if you were physically there and were close friends with the characters.

The paranormal thing wasn’t a huge focus of this book necessarily (even though it was there) because it’s about a girl learning about her destiny and who she is while navigating the road of normalcy. It also focuses a lot on her relationship with Carter. You’re constantly wondering whether or not Lainey and Carter were even going to end up together. While we did get a lot of information up front, Bertrand kept a lot of the suspense going throughout the book that kept you on your toes wondering what’s going to happen. There were quite a few of twists and turns that I didn’t see coming and that made the book a heck of more enjoyable.

I loved the characters. They were real, fun, and relatable. Amy and Carter are probably my favorites besides Lainey. Oh and we can’t forget about Aunt Tessa. I loved that Lainey and Carter had a lot in common, especially that they both were bookworms.

The boarding school setting was also quite interesting. I’ve never been to a boarding school so I didn’t entirely know what to expect. Throw in the paranormal stuff and it’s even more interesting. Perfection at it’s finest.

Since I usually review Christian books, I must mention that this is not one. The characters do curse and talk about sex quite a bit. The most we read about sex is through conversations though. There are quite a few times where the Lord’s name is taken in vain. I only mention this for my readers who refuse to read books that contain this kind of stuff. While it does contain these things, it isn’t overdone to the point that it makes the book garbage. It was really enjoyable and I highly recommend it.

I plan on reading the sequel and posting a review very shortly.

Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book from the publisher for my honest review, which I have given. I was not required to write a positive review and have not been compensated for it in any way. All opinions expressed are my own.


About Cara Bertrand

Cara is a former middle school literacy teacher who now lives in the woods outside Boston with: one awesome husband, two large dogs, one small daughter, and lots of words. LOST IN THOUGHT is her first novel and was one of three finalists for the 2011 Amazon/Penguin Breakthrough Novel Award in the Young Adult category.

Visit her online at www.carabertrand.com or on Twitter @carabertrand

5 responses »

  1. Pingback: Second Thoughts by Cara Bertrand | It's Storytime With Van Daniker!

  2. Pingback: Luminis Thoughts Tour with Author Cara Bertrand | It's Storytime With Van Daniker!

    • Thank you for allowing me to be apart of the tour. I was honestly concerned that I wasn’t going to be able to finish them in time for my tour day but I shouldn’t have been because they were impossible to put down! lol. Thank you so much for the encouraging words. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

