The Know Preservation by Ed Kurst

Standard

 

Hello! Welcome to my post for Novel Publicity’s blog tour. Here you will read about the book, what I thought about the book, and enjoy a lovely interview with the author himself.

There’s also a giveaway that Novel Publicity is doing so be sure to enter! Stay tuned until the very end.

To celebrate release week of The Know Preservation, you can grab your copy for only $0.99!

My Review:

I’ve always been fascinated by science fiction, but sometimes it can be a bit of a hit or a miss with me. I decided to give The Know Preservation a chance because the plot sounded intriguing. The only problem is that I’m not exactly sure how to review this one. Even though I did enjoy it, I didn’t love it.

The beginning of the book did not draw me in at all. When I read a book, I expect to be drawn in within the first few chapters. It was really confusing because point of views kept bouncing around and you had to figure out which characters belonged in which scene. I think that was a little too much honestly. The multiple point of views didn’t work with this and there were too many.

I’m not an engineer and I really don’t care for science. Nothing against science, it’s just not one of my interests. Due to that, the terminology wasn’t the easiest to understand and took away from the story for me.

However, as I battled on, the story did pick up and get better. It becomes less of a struggle to read as characters are forced to make decisions. I mean, what were the kinds of risks that these characters might have to face?

As far as characters go, they weren’t very relatable at all. Yet, they were far from perfect at the same time. I cared for very few of them, but some will earn sympathy, while others make cringe-worthy mistakes.

My favorite character was probably Albert Einstein. He was humorous and brainy. It was different and really cool that he was included in the story. He also fits perfectly in the plot which I found quite fun.

Stacy Hanson was another character that I enjoyed. She is determined and dedicated to see things through no matter how hard things get. She makes some excellent decisions in the story which makes her character stand out.

As I stated before, I didn’t love it but I do believe Mr. Kurst has potential and can’t wait to see what’s in store for his next book in this new trilogy.

I don’t recommend this for young readers, as there are lots of sexual references and mild language.

Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book from the author for my honest review, which I have given. I was not required to write a positive review and have not been compensated for it in any way. All opinions expressed are my own.



30355380About the Book

John Preston set aside the easy bullet that would end his certain lingering death. He now Knew too much. His mind had just returned from a wild ride tens of thousands of years into the past where he witnessed three primitive humans divining a path to save humankind from a global fiery catastrophe. What John now Knew might cure him but could also require he shred the very fabric of time and space.
John’s quest for answers will thrust him into the lead role to confront the Consortium, a cabal of eight families with the power to Know the future and the past. Guided by John’s latent Know ability and a 70,000 year old prophecy, he sets out on a path for his own salvation. Success will mean life, failure…a cruel doom for all humankind.
Preservation is the first book in the Know Trilogy which wraps a new theory of space-time, humankind’s evolution, millennia old conspiracies, and imminent global destruction around a broken man’s redemption, an evil man’s reckoning and a driven woman’s unique destiny.


An Interview with Ed Kurst

Today, we’re interviewing the author, to get to Know a little more about his writing process, and what it’s like publishing your first book! Read on for some great conversation with Ed Kurst.

What was your experience like publishing The Know: Preservation? Did you self-publish, use a small house publisher, or try to pitch a big publishing house?
EK: I read several books and a lot of articles about the various publishing choices. After all that research, I couldn’t decide but was fortunate to have a family friend who was a content editor. She then recommended a firm to do the copy-editing, and they recommended a website designer, and the book cover artist worked there as well. Lo and behold they also specialized in providing publicity for books, so I self-published.

The cover of your book is unique, and lets the reader’s imagination begin to bubble. Who did you work with to create the cover, and what was that experience like?
EK: Creating the cover was a collaborative process with the cover artist, Mallory Rock. She requested answers to a long list of questions. My wife and I also did a lot of on-line research to locate images we believed depicted Traveling as I described it in the book.
Mallory took all this information and produced a couple of covers. They weren’t what I had in mind so I provided some more specific input about the theme and color palette I was looking for plus how I would prefer the title to be oriented.
The final cover didn’t depict the actual act of Traveling, but I did feel it evoked the feeling of time travel. I love it and am tickled you liked it as well!

Now that your book is out, what are your next steps as an author – can we expect more books in the near future?
EK: The Know: Preservation is the first book in a trilogy. The second is The Know: Evolution, and the third will be The Know: Salvation. These should be published over the next few years. John Preston will remain the lead character, and there will be both old and new villains and supporting cast. John and the world are in for a rocky ride to salvation!
I also have about fifty pages and an outline completed for a book called The Fae. It will be filled with magical creatures, both good and evil, that live in the current day world but are known by only a few.

Time for a few questions about your first book! The Know: Preservation uses the real names and places of some leaders in our world,  for example, Putin and the ‘Family America’. Would you say that your book presents a possible alternate history for the world we live in today, albeit with a number of science fiction elements like The Know, ELAC and CACH?
EK: Yes, it is an alternate time-line world. But as the book occurs around the year 2030, I’d like to think it is also juuuust vaguely possible, you know, if there had been people with the Know secretly directing events for the last seventy thousand years!
And, ummm… if you know that the Family America exists today, uh… could you give me their phone number? I’d like to talk to them.

Tell us a bit more about ELAC and CACH, where did you get the idea for these two plot elements?
EK: I’ll try not to get into the weeds, but I am an engineer…
I wanted to create a science fiction basis that would allow all sorts of possibilities to present themselves, so the traditional limitations that are still imposed by modern quantum physics needed to be removed. Access to sub-Planck space was required.
I took the furthest theoretical predictions for accelerator technology and extrapolated them to their endpoints. This resulted in the maximum colliding-particle energy of one million tera-volts achieved by the ELAC. To do this would require materials not currently known today and component assemblies in the angstrom range. Even at this level, ELAC would be many, many orders of magnitude shy of what would be needed to approach the Planck realm.
The CACH, where the “coalescence point” occurs, was a necessary meld of extrapolated science with pure science fiction. It’s where multiple million-teravolt fields overlap to create the exponentially more intense energy effect required to breach the Planck energy threshold.
Okay, I did get in the weeds…some.

Last question – and it’s a fun one! If your book had a favorite color, vehicle, and place to travel, what would it be?

EK: Definitely, the favorite color of my book would be electric blue: the color of the energy fields when traveling through Zpace and the color of Stacey’s eyes.
Hmmm… vehicle… That would be another thing all together. I’m just too personally in love with the red 1967 Corvette L88 Coup. Now if I only had four million dollars lying around in a shoe-box somewhere…
My book would definitely want to spend more time with Tril. It would be fascinating to talk to and live through every detail and rendition of the future she manipulated in order to save the world from disaster.
Thanks for joining us on the tour! We loved reading you’re answers, and we’re sure our readers will too!


Excerpt

CHAPTER 3: THE GREAT MIGRATION
Am I dead?
I couldn’t hear, touch, move. Bodiless, my consciousness careened down a corridor of utter blackness. Yet there was something there, something my mind was connected to in a way that had never happened before.
Falling into this endless spinning void, I began to thrash around in a panic. At the same time, my heart raced in exhilaration and anticipation. I slowed and then paused in the uncertain darkness. It was as if I was standing on tiptoe at the edge of the Grand Canyon in the dead of night, arms spread wide, waiting for the whipping winds to lift me into flight or potentially cast me into oblivion.
All that separated me from familiar reality was a transparent black membrane. Beyond, tall grasses waved on a moonlit plain, eventually breaking against thickening scrub brush and a forested area. I pressed my consciousness against the fragile boundary and pushed through.
On the edge of the forest, primitive humans spoke in low, guttural voices. I was drawn inexorably to the eldest at the gathering and entered her mind. I was still myself but also simultaneously viewed, felt, and watched from within her at this gathering. Her present, her experiences, her thoughts were now mine.
Immediately sensing my presence, she pushed me gently but firmly to a mental arm’s length and silently commanded, ‘Traveler, observe.’
***
CHAPTER 4: THE PILGRIMAGE
For the twentieth time in a hundred years, Maddie Alkira made the pilgrimage. The day was blast-furnace hot, temperatures soaring higher than any in recorded history, a strange harbinger for the coming end of the world.
She stopped her slow trudge up the narrow rock outcropping and leaned heavily on a tall walking stick. The heat rolling off the cliff face was palpable, making it difficult for her to catch her breath. Her back pressed against the cliff face, only a foot away from the precipice, she squinted against the midday sun. The enigmatic depths of her blue-black eyes betrayed strength of will and Knowledge not seen in a thousand generations.
As far as the eye could see was a rust-and-brown landscape broken only very sparsely by a few rugged and twisted bushes. Harshness and desolation—this was her life and heritage. The isolation of Australia, the land of her ancestors, had served her people’s mission well.
She grasped her staff even tighter, seemingly trying to draw strength from the tens of generations that had used it before her. Thousands of generations had walked this same path. She completed the last hundred steps of her trek, the trail dead-ending halfway up the mesa.
It had been five years since Maddie had last been here. She carefully examined the rugged rock surface in front of her and shuffled within an inch of the sheer edge. At full arm’s length over the precipice, she pressed an indentation, and a stone doorway slid open. Maddie took a single long step, as if about to walk off the edge, and vanished—the opening closing behind her.

Ed Kurst HeadshotAbout Ed Kurst

Ed Kurst’s life as a child was a nostalgic bit of Americana, with two married parents, one sibling, and a pet beagle. They didn’t even lock their cars. The only thing missing was the proverbial white picket fence, but their neighbor did build a split rail one from seasoned logs.
As a kid, Ed frequented a neighborhood library, accessed by a spiral staircase to the second floor of an old brick building. It was a wondrous place to a curious child. Hardback novels were stacked from floor to ceiling and nestled in every nook and cranny of the library’s dusty shelves. Tolkien, Lovecraft, and Asimov were his first and favorite fantasy and science fiction authors. In between reading these classics, he devoured every book about dinosaurs and astrophysics his young mind could comprehend.
These early literary influences eventually led him to study a pre-med, engineering curriculum with a special focus on the psychology and physiology of the human brain. Eager to get out in the real world, and not spend six more years in school, he decided to pursue the engineering side of his interests. He didn’t completely abandon his calling for medicine. But getting an EMT qualification and occasionally riding an ambulance at night seemed to satisfy that urge.
Ed Kurst’s engineering vocation led him to live and work in five European countries and several places in the United States. During the last decade of a varied career, he settled in the US Gulf Coast and specialized in leading diverse technical teams to implement new technology and develop mega engineering projects. Once retired, he turned his attention to other pursuits.
One fateful month, about eight years ago, he was reading all he could about the CERN particle accelerator, the migration of homo sapiens out of Africa, the demise of the Neanderthals, and epigenetics. He also was reacquainting himself with his favorite fantasy and science fiction authors. Voilà, The Know trilogy was born! The first book—The Know: Preservation—is due for publication in 2016. The second—The Know: Evolution—is in draft form and scheduled for 2017. The last in the series—The Know: Salvation—should follow in 2018. And, another novel—The Fae—is in progress as well. It’s packed full of strange and wonderful fantasy creatures that live and love and scheme right under our very noses!


Giveaway  Link

https://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/e2e77192106/

About Becky

I’m Becky! I’m 25 years old and I recently had the opportunity to be on the street team for one of the authors that I enjoy reading. This was an opportunity where I helped her promote her new release. Through this experience I learned that I enjoyed learning about different ways to promote books. Reading has always been a passion of mine and I love helping other authors, especially ones who aren’t known very well, and promote their books in any way that I can. I love Jesus, relaxing by the beach, listening to music, spending time with my friends and family, superheroes, and my two awesome puppies. I graduated with a degree in counseling from Trinity College of Florida in 2014 and spent a year studying the Word of God at Word of Life Florida Bible Institute in 2010.

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: The Dimension of Ed

  2. Becky,
    Thank you for taking the time to read ‘The Know: Preservation’ and for writing such a detailed review. I’m glad that you liked the quirkiness of Big Al and felt the resolve of Stacey as she battled the odds. And I’m pleased that you will consider reading the next book in the series, ‘The Know: Evolution’.

    Best Regards,
    Ed Kurst

    Like

Leave a Reply

