The League and the Lantern by Brian Wells (Plus a Giveaway)

Standard


29892860-1The League and the Lantern by Brian Wells

Release Date: May 16, 2016

Publisher: Republic Ink

ISBN: 9780997227000

Genre: Middle School / Fiction / Action Adventure

Series: The League and the Lantern, Book 1

Oh my! This book is fantastic! Fans of Harry Potter and Percy Jackson are going to love this one! Trust me, this just could be the next big thing. It’s awesome. It’s geared for middle schoolers (ages 9-12) but even adults will love it. Be sure to stay tuned until the very end because I’m giving away a copy!

It begins with a 12-year-old boy named Jake Herndon. He’s the kind of kid who is trying to figure out who he is and where he belongs. He’s a genius when he wants to be. It’s summer and Jake is anxiously awaiting his seventh grade year at a new school for his new do-over. This all began with his seventh grade sleepover with the new school at a museum. Except it goes completely wrong. An organization invades and takes the night into a shocking swirl of events.

He becomes fast friends with TJ McDonald and Lucy Garcia. Before I continue on, let me explain a little bit about this two. I loved these characters so much! Their character development is awesome and add a fun touch to the story. These three friends are also all different races.

TJ is slightly awkward. He loves his pop culture so you can’t go a moment without him referencing a superhero, Star Wars, or The Princess Bride. He’s a genius with semi-hyper memory and does fencing for a sport.

Lucy has just moved to the states from Nepal. She’s traveled all over the world so she knows how to bargain for a cheaper price on something. She’s quite smart too, but she doesn’t trust as easily since she’s traveled so much. She also is fluent in several languages which comes in handy as they’re trying to survive the next 48 hours on the streets of Chicago.

As they are on the run, they discover a mystery that leads them to a secret from the Civil War. This is where it really cool and I don’t want to spoil anything.

Parents and teachers will love this part because kids won’t realize that they’re learning anything as they read this epic story. There are tons of fun facts about the Civil War and Abraham Lincoln included. We even get to visit some of those historic sites! Plus Brian Wells incorporated 140 vocabulary words that kids should know. In fact, be sure to check out the sweet bonus features at https://leagueandlantern.com/pages/bonus-stuff.

There are also lots of moral lessons throughout the story. These include family, friendship, mercy and compassion.

Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book from the publisher for my honest review, which I have given. I was not required to write a positive review and have not been compensated for it in any way. All opinions expressed are my own.


12717264_1511873382449580_4940341471434074210_n

Read the first 6 chapters here.

Purchase a copy at:  Brian Well’s Website or on Amazon

Did you know that when you purchase a copy, you’ll be helping kids? Every time a book is sold, the same hardback copy will be provided to get a kid who would not otherwise be able to afford one.


brian-wellsAbout Brian Wells

Raised on the edge of the jungles of Nigeria and the prairies of Illinois, executive producer Brian Wells has helped bring to life award-winning network television movies that have been enjoyed by millions and applauded by family organizations across the U.S. Although seventh grade was the worst year of Brian’s life, it helped him develop the imagination and catlike reflexes he enjoys today. This is his first novel.


GIVEAWAY TIME!

And now it’s time for that giveaway that I promised. Thank you so much for visiting my blog and reading this review. I hope you enjoy the book as much as I did. I’m giving away ONE copy of The League and the Lantern to ONE lucky winner. Must be US or Canada residents only.

Please make sure you go through the Rafflecopter below otherwise I will be unable to count your entry. Thank you.

a Rafflecopter giveaway
http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/14a141f03/?

Giveaway begins Thursday, May 5, 2016 and ends at midnight Tuesday, May 10, 2016.

The winner will be contacted by me via email. Thank you so much for entering!

This giveaway is now closed. Thank you to all who entered. Congrats Cherri R.! You are the winner of this fabulous book.

Disclosure (in accordance with the FTC’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising”): Many thanks to Propeller Consulting, LLC for providing this prize for the giveaway. Choice of winners and opinions are 100% my own and NOT influenced by monetary compensation. I did receive a sample of the product in exchange for this review and post.

Only one entrant per mailing address, per giveaway.  If you have won a prize from our sponsor Propeller / FlyBy Promotions in the last 30 days, you are not eligible to win.  Or if you have won the same prize on another blog, you are not eligible to win it again. Winner is subject to eligibility verification.”

 

Advertisements

6 responses »

  1. Pingback: First Line Fridays: The League and the Lantern by Brian Wells | It's Storytime With Van Daniker!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s