I Was Blind (Dating), But Now I See: My Misadventures in Dating, Waiting, and Stumbling Into Love by Stephanie Rishce

Standard

28432919

I Was Blind (Dating), But Now I See:

My Misadventures in Dating, Waiting, and Stumbling Into Love

by Stephanie Rische

Release Date: January 1, 2016

Publisher: Tyndale Momentum

ISBN: 978-1-4964-0481-7

Genre: Christian Life /Relationship Dating

Have you ever felt alone while it seems as if all your friends are getting married and having babies wondering if you’ll ever have that chance? Stephanie Rische completely understands. In fact, she found herself wondering if there was something wrong with her – was she not pretty enough? Not fun enough? Not datable enough? So she turned to God as she began to pray earnestly for God to bring the man she was meant to marry into her life.

Instead, she was given eight matchmakers.

I Was Blind (Dating), but Now I See is a true story about a young woman who tried really hard to find someone she could fall in love with despite the fact that she kept falling flat on her face. Amid the most cringe-worthy and awkward situations, Stephanie’s journey shows how God’s grace and love can meet us in ways we never could have imagined. We just have to open our eyes in order to see it.

I was skeptical of this book upon reading because I was thought it was going to be another guide for dating. While some of Stephanie’s stories relate to dating, it’s not about dating at all! She focuses mostly on life in general. It’s also more about learning to embrace God’s love and grace for us.

She explains that it isn’t a bad thing to want to get married but until we can learn to fill that longing for somebody to love us, we will never be satisfied. Only God can satisfy us.

I also loved how she explained that while others may make us feel as if we aren’t good enough, God thinks we’re good enough. In fact, He created us in our image. People may come and go and change, but God never will. God LOVES you and me!

This is a book that holds a lot of, “What you too?!” moments. Stephanie is very real in sharing and many readers will relate. She makes the reader feel as if she is an older sister or a close personal friend as she shares her experiences. She shares both her highs and lows of her story. She also does not wallow or pity herself or try to make everything sound easy and cheerful. I felt as if she completely understood me. She also appreciates and finds humor in the evidence of God working in her life along the way. This book encouraged me and I hope it encourages you too!

Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book from the publisher for my honest review, which I have given. I was not required to write a positive review and have not been compensated for it in any way. All opinions expressed are my own.

Read an excerpt.

Purchase at:

Amazon

Barnes & Noble

Christian Book

Stephanie RischeAbout Stephanie Rische

Stephanie Rische is a senior editor of nonfiction books at Tyndale House Publishers, as well as a freelance writer for publications such as Today’s Christian Woman, Christian Marriage Today, and Significant Living magazine.

Stephanie is a retired serial blind dater who happily exchanged her final blind date for a husband. Since getting married, she has been reaping the benefits of having a live-in dishwasher emptier, a homemade ice cream concocter, and a humorist-in-residence. Several years into this marriage gig, Stephanie is still trying to learn the finer points of sharing the covers.

She and her husband, Daniel, live in the Chicago area, where they enjoy riding their bikes, making homemade ice cream, and swapping bad puns. You can follow Stephanie’s blog at http://www.StephanieRische.com.

Leave a Reply

