The Blood of a God by Lance Burton

Standard

The Blood of a God: The Nephilim Chronicles by Lance Burton

Release Date: May 15, 2014

Publisher: WestBow Press

ISBN-10: 1490833145

ISBN-13: 978-1490833149

Genre: Science Fiction

In the year 2047, Earth is threatened by a group of alien invaders from the distant planet, Tanis, in the Orion Nebula. The only ones who can save the earth from total destruction are the members of Talon Squad, an elite group of soldiers with unique gifts, headed by the lovely Commander Tarakia Sol. Yet, there is more to Tarakia than just a highly trained warrior. Will all of her training and faith be enough to stop them? Where do these events place mankind’s existence in the universe?

This sounded like a really interesting book at first. The plot sounded really exciting and I am a fan of science fiction. However, it fell short. It’s not a book that I loved. First off, the author seemed to talk down to the audience. There were explanations that he should have left entirely out and allowed the reader to infer on their own. There were also scenes that he could have elaborated on, but chose not to. I would have rather he explained those rather than the ones he did. He also tried a bit too hard with this story. He put so much into The Blood of a God that his tangents got repetitive and annoying. It also made it really boring. It takes away from the enjoyment of the book. The characters also seemed very distant and unrelatable. The progression all throughout the book was so slow that I wasn’t drawn in. It also doesn’t seem like it was professionally edited at all. I think perhaps this could have actually solved most of the problems and make it a lot better of a book.

On that note, the idea was pretty interesting! It may even have made a really cool graphic novel. This is book one, so I’m hoping the next one is better done. I do not recommend this one. Normally I would share a biography of the author, but I couldn’t find anything about him. For an author who isn’t well known yet, this could really help get you noticed.

Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book from the publisher for my honest review, which I have given. I was not required to write a positive review and have not been compensated for it in any way. All opinions expressed are my own.

Leave a Reply

